We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous house in a great location”
Review of B & B Alexander

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B & B Alexander
Ranked #136 of 341 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I found B&B Alexander on Trip Advisor and, based on the reviews, made a booking. I had had several email exchanges with the owner prior to arriving to arrange dates and to provide me with directions on how to find the place from the airport. It was extremely easy as all we had to do was catch a 197 bus right outside the airport terminal for a trip of about 20 minutes (4€) to the Museumplein stop. Once there, all we had to do was walk around the corner.

From the moment we stepped into the place I knew we would not be disappointed. The house was built in 1887, and beautifully appointed with high ceilings with lovely mouldings in all of the rooms and lots of stained glass. Janneke, the owner, met us at the door and escorted us to our room on the top floor. As other reviewers have noted, the stairs are very steep and a bit of a challenge with a heavy suitcase. But that is part of the charm of this B&B so it is not something to complain about. Our room, at the front of the house on the top floor, was nice and large with a big bed, two dressers, a place to hang clothes, a large table and two chairs, and three big windows looking out onto the street. The lighting is good for reading in bed. There was an adjoining good-sized bathroom with toilet, sink and shower - lots of hot water and good pressure. There was a welcoming bottle of wine in the room.

Breakfast is served in the dining room at a time selected by each guest. It consists of a choice of different breads and croissants (bought the same morning), cheese, cold meats, yoghourt, fruit, tea, coffee and juice. Eggs are also prepared on request. There is more than enough to keep you full at least until lunch time if not longer. Wifi is also included and the signal is good.

Each floor of the house also has a small kitchenette that you can use to prepare meals or just coffee or tea. Our kitchenette contained a hot plate, microwave, kettle, coffee maker, fridge, and lots of dishes and cutlery.

There are many restaurants nearby, a large modern supermarket is only 2 minutes walk and major museums (Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum) are only 5 minutes by foot. It took us about 30 minutes to walk to Anne Frank House. And of course the main concert hall - the Concertgebouw, is right behind the B&B. So the location is great as all major points of interest are easily accessible yet it is not right in the heart of the city so it is nice and quiet at night. I should point out that for visitors who do not like to walk there is an excellent public transit service that will take you all over the city. It can be reached only a few steps from the B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BCtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 73 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good welcome and perfect setting for visiting Rijks, Van Gogh and Museumplein as well window shopping,(and buying) canal walks and exploring leafy strees. Lovely family home and good breakfast to set one up for the day with many good resurants close by for evening meals. Bus and trams only a stroll away and advice on hand when needed. I'd love to return. Gillian Mollard

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My teenage daughter and I were staying in this B&B. We had a lovely large room. Toilette and bathroom were on the landing, but private. It was a very good stay, of course different than in a hotel because you have no service (making up of rooms, cleaning bathroom etc). A bit on the expensive side though. There were only a couple of small things to say: the window did not open in our room. It was stuck. We had to turn off the heating because it became too hot. The owner smokes so people not liking the smell of cigarettes in the whole house should abstain. There are two lovely cats in the house, again, people allergic to cats should abstain. There was a small incidence when we were woken up at 8.30h to go to breakfast. That was not so pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sibylle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a lovely top floor room (room 2) overlooking a quiet street. The room had an en suite bathroom and access to a shared kitchen. The B&B is a lovely traditional terraced house with elegant interior. Janneke was a welcoming host and provided a great breakfast selection. The location is just behind the concert hall and minutes from the Van Gogh and Rijks Museum. It's also on the route for the airport bus, 40 minutes door to door. And close to trams into the city centre.

Room Tip: Room 2 on the top floor it was en suite, looking out the front of the building. It was up 2 flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A little more expensive than we would have liked, however Janneke was very lovely and happy to help out. Breakfast in the big dining area each morning was great. Thank you to Kim also who was able to help us with our questions.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freeburgh_Eagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Sometimes it's worth to stay in Bed & Breakfast such as the Alexander instead of usual hotels because then you can have the unique opportunity to share your experience together with local people that are always ready to help you organizing your visits as well as ready to chat friendly with you.
This B&B has been the best choice,in a typical building, it´s just next to the museum district and you can reach the city center with a nice walk... the room are very clean, big, with wifi connection and with extreme attention to the details (our "red" room was so romantic). Janneke (the owner) has been the kindest person ever, we found a small bottle of wine in our room as welcome drink.
Janneke has been so kind even when we did the big mistake ever forgetting to give the keys back at the check out and sending them later by mail.
If you are visiting Amsterdam, avoid expensive hotels with bad ratings, this B&B is the right choice!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiegoNadia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights 28 th march and had a lovely time. The accommodation was great big spacious rooms with your own bathroom plus the use of a small kitchen which came in very useful. Janneke the owner makes you very welcome and the breakfasts were lovely filled you up all day.
You can get a bus outside the airport which drops you off round the corner the the b&b. there is a supermarket over the road which I would recommend using as its cheaper that the tourist ones and quite reasonable.
There is a great transport service near by, but we walked everywhere and didn't feel the need to use it. You are able to walk into the centre it will take about 20 mins but there are quite a lot of different areas on route plus plenty of bars near bye.
Would definitely return to Amsterdam again and stay at this b&b as you are still near the centre but away from the lively parts of town which can get quite loud and busy

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nichola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Mosaic City Centre
Hotel Mosaic City Centre
#51 of 341 in Amsterdam
859 reviews
Hostelle
#34 of 249 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,339 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#66 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Alexander

Address: Alexander Boersstraat 15, 1071 KT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 341 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Alexander is located in a beautiful street in the Amsterdam museum district, next to the Concertgebouw, Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and the Stedelijk. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing