We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Alexaander Boersstraat 15” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B & B Alexander

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B & B Alexander
Save
You added B & B Alexander to your Saves list
Ranked #81 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Stay at Alexaander Boersstraat 15”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good welcome and perfect setting for visiting Rijks, Van Gogh and Museumplein as well window shopping,(and buying) canal walks and exploring leafy strees. Lovely family home and good breakfast to set one up for the day with many good resurants close by for evening meals. Bus and trams only a stroll away and advice on hand when needed. I'd love to return. Gillian Mollard

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
36
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My teenage daughter and I were staying in this B&B. We had a lovely large room. Toilette and bathroom were on the landing, but private. It was a very good stay, of course different than in a hotel because you have no service (making up of rooms, cleaning bathroom etc). A bit on the expensive side though. There were only a couple of small things to say: the window did not open in our room. It was stuck. We had to turn off the heating because it became too hot. The owner smokes so people not liking the smell of cigarettes in the whole house should abstain. There are two lovely cats in the house, again, people allergic to cats should abstain. There was a small incidence when we were woken up at 8.30h to go to breakfast. That was not so pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sibylle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a lovely top floor room (room 2) overlooking a quiet street. The room had an en suite bathroom and access to a shared kitchen. The B&B is a lovely traditional terraced house with elegant interior. Janneke was a welcoming host and provided a great breakfast selection. The location is just behind the concert hall and minutes from the Van Gogh and Rijks Museum. It's also on the route for the airport bus, 40 minutes door to door. And close to trams into the city centre.

Room Tip: Room 2 on the top floor it was en suite, looking out the front of the building. It was up 2 flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A little more expensive than we would have liked, however Janneke was very lovely and happy to help out. Breakfast in the big dining area each morning was great. Thank you to Kim also who was able to help us with our questions.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freeburgh_Eagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Sometimes it's worth to stay in Bed & Breakfast such as the Alexander instead of usual hotels because then you can have the unique opportunity to share your experience together with local people that are always ready to help you organizing your visits as well as ready to chat friendly with you.
This B&B has been the best choice,in a typical building, it´s just next to the museum district and you can reach the city center with a nice walk... the room are very clean, big, with wifi connection and with extreme attention to the details (our "red" room was so romantic). Janneke (the owner) has been the kindest person ever, we found a small bottle of wine in our room as welcome drink.
Janneke has been so kind even when we did the big mistake ever forgetting to give the keys back at the check out and sending them later by mail.
If you are visiting Amsterdam, avoid expensive hotels with bad ratings, this B&B is the right choice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiegoNadia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights 28 th march and had a lovely time. The accommodation was great big spacious rooms with your own bathroom plus the use of a small kitchen which came in very useful. Janneke the owner makes you very welcome and the breakfasts were lovely filled you up all day.
You can get a bus outside the airport which drops you off round the corner the the b&b. there is a supermarket over the road which I would recommend using as its cheaper that the tourist ones and quite reasonable.
There is a great transport service near by, but we walked everywhere and didn't feel the need to use it. You are able to walk into the centre it will take about 20 mins but there are quite a lot of different areas on route plus plenty of bars near bye.
Would definitely return to Amsterdam again and stay at this b&b as you are still near the centre but away from the lively parts of town which can get quite loud and busy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nichola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here for 6 days for a birthday trip and the bed and breakfast was really lovely. Janneke made us very welcome and breakfast each morning was beautifully presented with homemade jam, a variety of rolls and bread and even chocolate sprinkles. Our room was very clean with a portable heater for extra warmth if we were cold. Janneke was very helpful with suggestions about places to eat and sightseeing. The bed and breakfast is in a great location - quiet but close to museums and the city centre. There are several tramstops nearby which all go into the city centre. My trip to Amsterdam was really enhanced by staying here and I would love to go back in the spring/summer. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magnoliawoodchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#214 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,151 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Dashwood Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#10 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amsterdam Suites
Amsterdam Suites
#123 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Alexander

Property: B & B Alexander
Address: Alexander Boersstraat 15, 1071 KT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Alexander is located in a beautiful street in the Amsterdam museum district, next to the Concertgebouw, Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and the Stedelijk. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing