We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B & B Alexander

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B & B Alexander
Ranked #104 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location and hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I spent two nights at B and B Alexander and the location is outstanding. It is very close to the major museums while being located in a lovely and quiet neighbourhood.
It is also located in close close proximity to the main No 5 tram line and an excellent supermarket. The bus service to the airport is also nearby.
My room was large and very comfortable. Janneke is a wonderful host and prepares a more than adequate breakfast. Janneke's house is nicely decorated and her artistic works add to the decor. The provision of a kitchenette is a nice touch and one which I made use of.
The internal stairs are steep but manageable with normal luggage.
I suspect that the tarrif represents good value for money for Amsterdam.
Overall I had a very pleasant stay and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
36
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I spent a long weekend at B&B Alexander, while exploring Amsterdam, and I'm very happy with my choice for several reasons.
1. The B&B is in a great location. Close to museums and the beautiful Vondelpark, surrounded by awesome artchitecture. And also directly served by a bus from the airport (around 25-30 minutes).
2. It's a private house, nicely decorated and well kept, and Janneke (the owner and hostess) is a very charming and lovely lady.
3. If you manage to overlook the steep stairs (normal everywhere in Amsterdam), the rooms and bathrooms are very spacious, unlike many other B&Bs I've been in.
4. Breakfast is served in the dining room at one big round table, on gorgeous china. Sitting at one table with other potential guests gives you the opportunity to share your experiences and simply have an enjoyable meal.

I would definitely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ania_mulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Janneke's B & B in Amsterdam. It was a wonderful experience. The house is in such a lovely neighbourhood; the room was very comfortable. We made use of the kitchenette which was handy for preparing snacks. Janneke prepared the most delicious breakfast every morning and she was able to accommodate my gluten free diet. I would recommend this B & B for its true Amsterdam hospitality!

Room Tip: The purple room on the first floor was like having a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

I was looking for a place to stay that was not a large chain hotel. I immediately thought of a B&B. There are so many in Amsterdam, so I thought that I would start with an area that I knew was safe and nice. That helped a little, but I still got a lot of b&b's. I tried hard to research all of them, but time was running short. I found this one and I have Zero regrets. Staying here is like you are staying with family (without the drama, but you do have to pay before you go...don't worry, the cost is very reasonable!). Anyways, facilities are very clean, extremely close to good food, shops, etc. I really don't know what else to say, except, it's doubtful you will be disappointed. Please understand, this is a person's house that you are staying at, so don't expect an elevator or middle of the night room service. You also won't be earning any frequent flier miles either, but you will get friendly, personalized service from someone who cares about your stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rybr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I feel very lucky for selecting this place on my vacation. I think it is one of the best B&B in the city. First of all, cleaning and privacy was very important for me. We stayed with my husband on the first floor which whole floor was belonging to us. We had nicely decorated wide bedroom, kitchenette (including tea, coffee...), wc and the bathroom. In addition, it is located in the museum quarter that most of museums are in walking distance. And if you take number 5 tram on the main road, it takes about 10 minutes to go to city center, dam square. Lastly, the owner of the house, Ms.Jannekke was very kind and helpful lady, and she prepared a rich and delicious breakfast to us. If one day, I go back to Amsterdam, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Selyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at B&B Alexander easy reachable either from the airport or from the train station. Location is perfect, we walked all over town from there. The owner was very helpful, communication was fast and efficient during reservation. Our room was also great :spacious and clean. Would come back without hesitation.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JMarcds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

A lovely old house in a good location near The Concertgebouw.
We stayed in a beautifully furnished large room, with a balcony, on the first floor.We had sole use of a small kitchen and a bathroom down the corridor.Touches like the welcome wine and chocolates were much appreciated.
Breakfast was served in Janneke's own charming lounge/dinning room and was excellent and very well presented.
Janneke was most welcoming and helpful and we felt like house guests.
Would definitely recommend this little gem and stay there again.

Room Tip: Front rooms are probably cooler and have the advantage of a small balcony.The road is quiet and nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyndah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#202 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
#87 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#212 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amsterdam Suites
Amsterdam Suites
#195 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Alexander

Property: B & B Alexander
Address: Alexander Boersstraat 15, 1071 KT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Alexander is located in a beautiful street in the Amsterdam museum district, next to the Concertgebouw, Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and the Stedelijk. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing