We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Ranked #15 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and great value”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hostel and the people who work here are great characters and really friendly and helpful. One thing is this hostel has two parts to it and it's like chalk and cheese, back of the hostel is not half as nice as the new building but it's not that bad at all and we were out all day so it was perfect for us! Felt safe and just 5mins walk from Dam square! Free breakfast was great!! It kept us going till that evening! Amsterdam is very beautiful and anywhere in the city is very reachable by tram!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    406
    113
    32
    18
See reviews for
63
129
300
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I travelled to Amsterdam on Saturday 2nd November 2013 and stayed here. I knew i was booking a hostel, so my hopes werent high at all, i thought i would perhaps be staying in a dungeon..... BUT NO! This place was excellent. The matress was comfy, the room was very clean and modern with a flatscreen tv, secure safes to keep valuables in, clean toilet and shower areas as well.

Free breakfast in the mornings was fine. Toast, jam, honey, marmalade, tea, coffee, juices, cereals, eggs and cold meats and cheese. For the cost, you cant really be snobby and demand any more than that.

The staff spoke good english and were very helpful. I normally stay in a 4*+ hotel when i travel and ive stayed in many 5* hotels before, and to be totally honest, this is the very 1st time i have been made feel right at home without any conditions. I felt like i lived there. I have absolutely nothing bad to say at all about this place. You may read other reviews complaining about noise, but this is Amsterdam folks, if you want silence, go to the lake district. It's also a hostel, so dont expect a masked ball and a gala dinner every night. If i ever go back to amsterdam, i will only stay in this place because its very central and close to all the things i wanted to see and do in this crazy city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a really nice hostel, very clean,modern,with good breakfast and free internet, really for young people!!!! It’s near the Central railway station. On the reception there is a big bowl with white pills, at first we were afraid to take them because we thought that these are drugs, but the boy on the reception laughed for a long time and said that sweets are not drugs,this is mint! These sweets were delicious and free))) Good times!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pequenaefresca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Астрахань, Россия
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Veru good location. Not far from central railway station - 5 minutes walking. Red lamp district, museums, nights clubs - all are not far from hotel. Cheap, clean, good service, breakfast. But it is the hostel, remember it.

Room Tip: Take the room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuslanRom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. Unfortunately, in 2 of them I didn't get any sleep, since there was a smelly junkie in my room and the place was fully booked. I was told that this is my problem, with no effort to help.

When there finally was another room, I had to change the sheets myself. Neither of the rooms was cleaned during my stay. Bathrooms are cleaned only after breakfast, so if you want to enjoy the (very basic) breakfast you get to witness the results of your floormates' night adventures.

If you're in amsterdam to get high or drunk, it's fine. Otherwise, put in a few extra euros and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racheloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed in a private double room with my husband, shared bathroom. Although the rooms are small and you'll get no view, I was surprised that I had my own sink, flat screen tv and safe. There was at least one bathroom and shower on each floor which meant I never had to wait to use it. The room and building were kept very clean and there was staff on hand 24/7. If you need a good, clean place to put your head with a great location this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nsmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,553 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,405 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,101 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#63 of 367 in Amsterdam
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Hotel Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Hotel Tourist Inn

Property: Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Address: Spuistraat 52, 1012 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Hotel Tourist Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Budget Hotel Tourist Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing