We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Ranked #14 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hostel and the people who work here are great characters and really friendly and helpful. One thing is this hostel has two parts to it and it's like chalk and cheese, back of the hostel is not half as nice as the new building but it's not that bad at all and we were out all day so it was perfect for us! Felt safe and just 5mins walk from Dam square! Free breakfast was great!! It kept us going till that evening! Amsterdam is very beautiful and anywhere in the city is very reachable by tram!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (967)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 967 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

I travelled to Amsterdam on Saturday 2nd November 2013 and stayed here. I knew i was booking a hostel, so my hopes werent high at all, i thought i would perhaps be staying in a dungeon..... BUT NO! This place was excellent. The matress was comfy, the room was very clean and modern with a flatscreen tv, secure safes to keep valuables in, clean toilet and shower areas as well.

Free breakfast in the mornings was fine. Toast, jam, honey, marmalade, tea, coffee, juices, cereals, eggs and cold meats and cheese. For the cost, you cant really be snobby and demand any more than that.

The staff spoke good english and were very helpful. I normally stay in a 4*+ hotel when i travel and ive stayed in many 5* hotels before, and to be totally honest, this is the very 1st time i have been made feel right at home without any conditions. I felt like i lived there. I have absolutely nothing bad to say at all about this place. You may read other reviews complaining about noise, but this is Amsterdam folks, if you want silence, go to the lake district. It's also a hostel, so dont expect a masked ball and a gala dinner every night. If i ever go back to amsterdam, i will only stay in this place because its very central and close to all the things i wanted to see and do in this crazy city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a really nice hostel, very clean,modern,with good breakfast and free internet, really for young people!!!! It’s near the Central railway station. On the reception there is a big bowl with white pills, at first we were afraid to take them because we thought that these are drugs, but the boy on the reception laughed for a long time and said that sweets are not drugs,this is mint! These sweets were delicious and free))) Good times!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pequenaefresca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Veru good location. Not far from central railway station - 5 minutes walking. Red lamp district, museums, nights clubs - all are not far from hotel. Cheap, clean, good service, breakfast. But it is the hostel, remember it.

Room Tip: Take the room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuslanRom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Abbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. Unfortunately, in 2 of them I didn't get any sleep, since there was a smelly junkie in my room and the place was fully booked. I was told that this is my problem, with no effort to help.

When there finally was another room, I had to change the sheets myself. Neither of the rooms was cleaned during my stay. Bathrooms are cleaned only after breakfast, so if you want to enjoy the (very basic) breakfast you get to witness the results of your floormates' night adventures.

If you're in amsterdam to get high or drunk, it's fine. Otherwise, put in a few extra euros and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racheloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed in a private double room with my husband, shared bathroom. Although the rooms are small and you'll get no view, I was surprised that I had my own sink, flat screen tv and safe. There was at least one bathroom and shower on each floor which meant I never had to wait to use it. The room and building were kept very clean and there was staff on hand 24/7. If you need a good, clean place to put your head with a great location this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nsmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,345 reviews
ClinkNOORD
#7 of 249 in Amsterdam
1,109 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#12 of 249 in Amsterdam
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
CityHub
#2 of 249 in Amsterdam
354 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 249 in Amsterdam
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Hotel Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Hotel Tourist Inn

Address: Spuistraat 52, 1012 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $49 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Hotel Tourist Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist Inn offers everything young urban travelers love! In a nutshell: Ideal if you travel on a budget Enjoy Amsterdam with a group of friends or family 1 to 4 person private rooms and dorms up to 6 people Complimentary Continental breakfast included Fantastic location in the center of Amsterdam Ideal base for a weekend full of fun and culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Budget Hotel Tourist Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing