We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, helpful staff and clean rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budget Hotel Tourist Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Ranked #16 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amritsar, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good location, helpful staff and clean rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here in a 6 bedroom dorm, the dorm was a great size and very clean, it did back on to a section of the red light district which was amusing. The staff were most helpful in planning trips and finding places, WiFi worked some of the time however wasn't too great, the hostel was quite noisy of a evening, doors slamming etc. The shared bathrooms were okay however one door didn't lock on our floor to the shower so was quite daring using that cubicle, all part of the experience... breakfast was excellent and including in the price, unlimited toast, spreads, meats, cereal, eggs, and hot drinks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank libertinedreamer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    376
    104
    30
    16
See reviews for
55
120
275
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Overall, this hotel was rather average value for money in our experience. Reviews on the two buildings would be chalk and cheese as they are so different. If you happen to be stationed in the extension building, be prepared for small rooms with tiny window, shoebox-size WC and narrow and steep staircases with no lift. Located next to Red Light windows.
The main building is more modern with nicer amenities. The breakfast was good and rich, and the staff friendly but not going out of their way for best service. Overall clean and good central location, not far from main station and big supermarket. For the same money, a houseboat might have been more of an experience!

Room Tip: Go for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagNificent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

it's a good place, very great location, though the map is not very easy to find but the location is perfect, service is good and the room and other facilities is reasonable for the price. The breakfast is awesome!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Potsawee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Will definitely stay here everytime I go to Amsterdam. Brilliant hotel and great value for money. In the heart of Amsterdam the location couldnt really be better. Was also a nice area of Amsterdam where we felt safe walking around at night. The rooms were clean, we loved our room for 5 - no bunks beds, instead 5 comfy single beds and even a table with 2 chairs and a window with a view onto the street. Each had our own large safe and plenty of room for bags. Breakfast was also adequate and tasty but basic. Free wifi was a major bonus for us which we took advantage of! Would definitely reccommend to anyone travelling to Amsterdam on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Second time iv visited dam in a year, this time in a group of 8. Since we were on a budget they arranged for all of us to stay in a room of 6, adding another bed. Yes the room was absolutely cramped as a result, but it was clean, lockers were great and the beds were incredibly comfortable. The toilets and showers were always clean and water was always hot. Breakfast was good, plenty of variety. Really enjoyed the stay, and would definately reccomend this place to anyone staying in amsterdam for a few days on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank habarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed here in June with 4 friends and overall we were impressed. we booked a room for 5 and were put in room 23, which had 3 bunk beds. I am not a massive fan of bunk beds but I managed to secure and lower bunk so was happy. the room was small but there was room for all our cases and belongings there were also 6 free lockers in the room which was handy.

the beds all had clean bedding and were very comfortable we were there for 5 nights and the bedding wasn't changed but who cares? not us! there were also some small towels provided again they seemed clean.

The showers and toilets were shared with the other rooms on the floor, there were two toilets and two showers on each floor. there was hot water all day every day and the pressure was very good, there were also free hair dryers.

Location is excellent easy walking distance to all attractions no more than 20 mins and has a excellent coffee shop opposite if that's what your after.

There was always someone on the front desk 24hours keeping an eye on people coming in and out of the hostel which made it feel safe and they were very friendly and helpful.

There was breakfast included in the price which was ok, there was bread for toast, jams, honey, cheese, salami, and one day there was another mystery meat which was tasty but I have no idea what it was! there were also boiled eggs, cereal, tea and coffee.

All in all it was good enough we were happy to stay there and would book again. At the end of the day you get what you paid for so cant complain!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savage_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Hotel Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Hotel Tourist Inn

Property: Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Address: Spuistraat 52, 1012 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Hotel Tourist Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Budget Hotel Tourist Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing