We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pizza and gluten-free too!”
Review of De Italiaan

De Italiaan
Ranked #477 of 3,855 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza and gluten-free too!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The pizzas here are delicious and they offer a gluten-free base too as an option. Nice place for dinner with friends, but also for dinner with kids earlier in the evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AYL_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    95
    23
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
“Neighborhood restaurant with delicious food”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We found this restaurant on the web and stopped for dinner our first night in Amsterdam while walking back to our hotel from the museums. We knew we'd made the right choice when we realized the rest of the customers were locals. The dinner was delicious - I had ravioli stuffed with cheese and artichokes and served with a lemony cream sauce accompanied by Jupiter beer. We'd highly recommend eating here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3Sue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely neighbourhood restaurant”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stumbled upon this little gem as we were staying just across the street. The place was buzzing with locals - always a good sign. On our first visit we sat at one of the outside tables as the inside was full so it is always a good idea to book in advance. The food was lovely - traditional Italian with an imaginative twist. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WearytravellerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It was so good the first time we had to go back again”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

De Italiaan was recommended by the people who run the B&B. It was so good the first time we had to go back for a second helping a few nights later. The stuffed mushrooms were the perfect start. The pizzas that followed each night were awesome. We were able to taste all the ingredients and they blended together so well. If you are looking for a North American style pizza with a 3" thick crust you will be disappointed - the crust at DI is thin, flavorful and a perfect match for the toppings both night times we ate there. We didn't have the chance to try the pasta dishes but they sure looked good - will try them on the next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dtandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent little neighborhood Italian restaurant.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A block from Le Quartier Sonang, service was friendly, prompt and perfectly paced. Outdoor seating provided a lovely venue for people watching, and an excellent meal completed a great day in Amsterdam.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Italiaan also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Italiaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing