We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe travels!”

Lovers Canal Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.54*
and up
Amsterdam's Icebar Xtracold with Optional Canal Cruise
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: With Rederij Lovers, you can admire the canals of Amsterdam on a Canal Cruise. In a luxurious cruise boat, you are taken along beautiful imposing canal-side houses with clock, spout and neck gables, the Zevenbogenbruggengracht, the Magere Bridge over the Amstel, the VOC-ship and the docks. An unforgettable cruise!
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Safe travels!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Always great but I wish they would clean the windows! It rains often and it is frustrating to see your pictures look so bad since you were forced in side from the rain.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    697
    413
    194
    197
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
549 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

It was a beautiful sunny day so we sat outside. I enjoyed the ride and views but we could no hear the descriptions. If you want to hear the commentary you might choose a different line with enclosed seating. I had no issue with just enjoying the day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sggypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Give this one a miss”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The driver of the boat was also doing the commentating and he lacked enthusiasm. His voice and expression were flat and we had to ask him several times where we where on the map and also to explain some of the building as we raced past them

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank thursdaygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Disappointing: short and expensive”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I have been coming to Amsterdam for over 30 years. We always enjoy a cruise of the canals. We usually catch the boats near the Museumplein or the Rokin, a distance from Central Station. This time we made the mistake of jumping onto the Lovers Canal Cruise just in front of Central Station. The prices were 20% higher than in other similar cruises, the stated time was 1 hour but it was cut short to 50 minutes, and the boat's captain was in a hurry: did not give us any time to take pictures of the famous 7 bridges. The explanations in several languages (Dutch, English, French, German) seemed old and tired. they did not really add much to our appreciation of the Amsterdam architecture, history or culture. The canals are as attractive as ever, but the Lovers cruise left much to be desired. Next time we will go back to our tradition of catching one of the other cruise companies. Also you can buy tickets at a discount price in many of the tour agencies along the Damrak and elsewhere in the city.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rocketleech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Cruise Line :)”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I took the museum line - this stops and various museum points all over Amsterdam and you can hop on and off as you please. I'd already seen every museum that I wanted to, so I just took advantage of this longer (approx 2 hour) cruise to see Amsterdam from it's beautiful canals.

I had a great time - Louie (our tour guide) was fun and friendly! I definitely recommend taking one of these cruises! They also cover almost every language :)

Side note: if you go to a tickets and tours kiosk/shop you can get a discount on the cruise (it comes out to about 14EU rather than 17EU

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MyrtleBeachNanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovers Canal Cruises also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lovers Canal Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing