We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“"My Ship Compass"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum Het Schip

Museum Het Schip
Book In Advance
$60.15*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #87 of 466 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“"My Ship Compass"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

...was the map they gave us with our tickets (€15 ea.) to navigate this magnificent Museum. You enter an open courtyard (South) from which you reach the stairs (and elevators) to the different sections: East, West and North. We started at "West" with a 'Circus at Sea' intended for children but that we also enjoyed, 'My Expo', and interactive show where you could create a storm at sea. "The Tale of the Whale" from hunting to toys and conservation, and "See you in the Golden Age" where actors describe in a movie, that appears and vanishes as you walk, how Holland became a world power. They remark hard work and a simple life as the foolproof recipe. Then we passed onto "East" with "The Paintings" ample exhibition of maritime themes by Dutch painters of different eras: Men of War, battles, storms, fires, disasters, calm seas, pleasure cruises to choose from. "The Ship Decorations" the most interesting of which were the collection of Ships Figureheads. "The Navigational Instruments" before radar. "The Photo Abum" stories of immigration told as you sat comfortably. "The Yacht Models" old and new."The Globes" the world as was imagined more than seen. "The Glass, Silver and Porcelain" that adorned banquets.
And "North" for the "Port of Amsterdam", the famous "Amsterdam" Indiaman (perfect duplicate) "A Voyage at Sea" where you tried to survive sinking by rowing for your life. And, since part of the beautiful building is used for private parties, we witnessed a wedding what is supposed to bring you luck. It did bring us luck: we spent a fantastic afternoon at the Museum Het Schip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Amyjordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    21
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful, fascinating, definitely worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Relaxed, informative tour (tours in English at 11am), friendly tour guide, and just such an inspiring piece of architecture/planning. The details on the building are simply stunning and we could still learn a lot today from the ideology behind it. Even if you're not particularly 'into' architecture or social history, it oozes retro cool! The Lunchroom is a great bonus too. Ignore the guidebooks which say get the bus from the town centre, and walk down Brouwergracht and through Westerpark instead, it only takes about 25 mins and it's worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunshineinyourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almere
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only for the architecture minded.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very nice detailed exhibition about the so called amsterdam architecture style from 1910 until 1925. It is in some buildings made in this style.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A bit out of the way but worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

A walk through Westerpark or a ride on bus 22 gets you to this amazing wonderful building.
If we could show as much respect to the working class as the Amsterdam School architect Michel deKlerk did in 1919 this would most certainly be a better world"

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cobele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Loved, loved, loved this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Amazing interior, a small exhibition within the Museum, but the highlight was definitely the guided walking tour which I cannot recommend highly enough. Not only for the knowledge of the guide, but for the social history, and the beauty of the buildings themselves. As another reviewer says, this 'museum' and the surrounding buildings are part of the fabric of Amsterdam. They deserve to be more widely recognised - and not just by architecture junkies :-)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank vwbeetle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Het Schip also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Het Schip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing