We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy, central and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Diverto

Diverto
Reserve with
Diverto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #300 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We believe in casual gastronomy with the quality of a star restaurant. Diverto going quality small serving dishes allowing guests more freedom and more likely to enjoy a successful evening.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
141 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Cosy, central and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Right near Leidesplein this small restaurante has the right atmosphere, for a good dinner out, staff was very efficient and food very simple and well prepared. I went several times as I travel for work very often to close by location. Worth a visit but make sure to book as it is sometimes full.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MafaldaPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    57
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thank you very much Bicken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I cannot understand why visitors to the centre of Amsterdam, walk into a McDonalds or KFC, when this lovely little (and unknown) restaurant is a 2 minute walk away. I went to visit a friend in amsterdam recently, and we ate so much delicious food and drank amazing wine, all very reasonably priced...wow.

It has a modern feel, an excellent chef, and main courses for under 20 euros. Amazing value for money, the prices wont be this low for a long time. Michelin will be on their way...

Thank you Bicken very much...you really looked after me.

See you again when i am back in Amsterdam.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Better than average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We found this restaurant just a bit too pricy for what you get. That's why I rated it only three stars. Couldn't fault the service, wines and food though. Atmosphere is warm and welcoming. Staff were friendly and efficient. They served some lovely bread and excellent salted butter and a nice complimentary amuse. Portions were a bit too small and the plates weren't hot enough. Food was nice (rouleau/pate style mousse wrapped in bacon as a starter and duckbreast as main) but nothing special. Wines were good, but expensive. A good restaurant, but not in my top 10 of Amsterdam restaurants.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Perhaps it was full, or we were 7?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Booked thanks to an Amsterdammer's recommendation. We were a group of 7; Thursday evening. Restaurant filled up whilst we were there. We ordered the recommended 3 course daily special .. waitress was patient as she explained it around the table (our first awareness that the place can get noisy even with normal chat: hard walls do not soak up the sound!).
It was a long wait. It was another long wait between starter and main: too long for the special which presumably was ready to cook.
We all felt the food, when it came was uninspiring. Duck breast was fine but to be honest I'd had far better in a small Parisian neighbourhood bar the previous week. It managed to the both pink and overdone. Wines and beers were again OK. The special was Eur33.
Clearly a popular place: table full of couples, of smaller groups of 4-5. Noisy of happy talk. But nothing really to write home about.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sgreenslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inspiring food in the middle of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I loved the food experience here. Everything is beautifully made and presented, staff friendly and very nice venue

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alledm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diverto also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Diverto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing