We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great place to stay and brilliant location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flower Market Apartment

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flower Market Apartment
Ranked #317 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great place to stay and brilliant location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

rented two apartments for a group of 10, were met straight away when called owner and checked in half the group, had no problem returning later to check the rest of us in. we had the ground floor and the top floor apartment both great if was returning i would just rent the ground floor as it is huge. everything is there towels hair dryers irons etc basic supplies in press and local super market only 1min away. only piece of advice would be to have cash on you as don't deal with cards other than that i would defo stay again if i visited amsterdam

Room Tip: ground floor apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilrose89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    6
    9
    15
See reviews for
10
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We travelled as a group of 6, couples and friends to celebrate two 30th birthdays. Booked using Booking.com & got a great deal for a 3 night stay. Arrival nstructions were straight forward for train & airport. Long queue at airport to collect keys & pay security deposit (this was explained on booking email). Easy enough to find if you investigate beforehand. Great location near flower market and Rembrandtplein. Apartment was newly refurbished with modern decor and VERY clean. No complaints about our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerp87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We got to the apartments and were met straight away by the owner who quickly got us checked in. The apartment itself was huge, and very clean. There were 4 of us and the apartment slept 8 people so we had a choice of beds! The bathroom was really nice, but we had a problem with the shower, so we let the owner know and within minutes of letting him know he was at the apartment to help us. sort it out. The only thing that didn't work very well was the jets in the shower.

Unfortunately the night we spend there, there were kids in the apartment above us and we could hear them charging around and screaming which made the experience a bit less enjoyable.

In terms of location it was near to everything. A tram stop was about 100m away and Centraal station was a 15 minute walk or 5 minute tram ride and there was a supermarket just outside of the apartment.

The only thing you need to be aware of is that there is a 200 EUR deposit you have to pay on arrival and that has to be paid in cash, so don't get caught out.

If i were to visit Amsterdam again I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Symsymmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Overall a decent apartment in a good location. This is an okay apartment with a few words of warning to fellow renters. First, the apartment owner does NOT accept ANY credit cards...NONE of the websites that advertise this property state this when booking a room. When the owner meets you to check you in he WILL expect CASH only for payment. This did not cause a problem for our trip but did catch us off guard, and I feel the need to warn other potential renters who this could affect adversely...bring cash with you when you check in. DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU NEED TO PUT THIS ROOM ON A CREDIT CARD TO HELP SUBSIDIZE YOUR TRIP!!!
The staircase is very steep to get to 2nd and 3rd floors, if you have a problem with stairs, this is not the place for you. If you will be bringing large, heavy or awkward luggage, this is not the place for you...there are 40 very steep stairs to the 3rd floor. This apartment does not have blinds to block out the morning sun, bring an eye mask. If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. The apartment is not insulated well, and you can hear EVERYTHING that is happening on the street below.
On a positive note, the apartment is spacious and would easily sleep 6 people. Be warned, 4 people will be sleeping in the same large room. This apartment is also within easy walking distance to the flower market, many restaurants, clubs and shopping.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

stayed for three nights with two friends for a city break. been to amsterdam many times and much prefered having own apartment to hotel. apartment is in very central location however it is above two gay bars which are open until 3am. noise is a issue in living room but not so much of an issue in bedrooms. there is also a lot of noise in morning when the bars are clearing up. This being said amsterdam is a noisy place at the best of times and with use of earlugs i slept fine. we were also up partying late so it might be more of an issue for others.
in terms of the apartment it is nice, clean and kitchen is well equiped. the stairs into and within are extremely steep and are a bit of a hazard. took 2 of us to get case up stairs. while most stairs are steep in amsterdam these are more like a ladder. living room was ok could have been cleaner, kitchen good. main bedroom exceptional, second one a bit on small side. one major issue is that bedrooms and shower room are on top floor but toilet is downstairs in livingroom/kitchen/study level. this is a pain in middle of night.
overall i found it good value and service from stayamsterdam was good. however as smokers we were not happy to be told we could not smoke especially as advert clearly stated you could. just had to go to more coffeeshops instead!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coconut-monkey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#174 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#157 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#61 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,702 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Keizershof
Hotel Keizershof
#124 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#148 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower Market Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Market Apartment

Property: Flower Market Apartment
Address: Amsterdam Centrum Kerkstraat 248, 1017 HA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flower Market Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Flower Market Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing