We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Board written menu, nice service”
Review of Restaurant Vlaming

Restaurant Vlaming
Ranked #29 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: A family owned bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. We serve here the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie and home-made Limoncello.
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
730 reviews
498 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Board written menu, nice service”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We didn't know what to expect here. We were happy customers by the time we finished our meal.
The photos included are not of the entrees b/c we were excited to eat when they came. The started were very good and the entrees even better.
The small restaurant is efficiently run but once they get busy you will wait for your server to return.
They do take reservations and they are recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    221
    34
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vlaming Great!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Relaxed and understated, the restaurant and menu are small but deliver in every aspect: great food, friendly service and good value. It was packed on a Monday evening so reservations are suggested. Bob replied to my email request. Go visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mr37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Limited menu”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

There were only 5 items on the menu on the evening we visited. Steak with blue cheese was good, risotto was average. Solid meal but not amazing. Probably wouldnt recommend it to a friend, but if you are in the area and looking for a meal - give it a go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans1951, Eigenaar at Restaurant Vlaming, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear guest, you’re right: we have a limited menu. As you must have noticed we also have just a small number of seats and thus, if we want to guarantee fresh products every day, we can’t offer too many different dishes. But there is choice for everybody: meat, fish and veggie. Apart from the menu there are some specials of the day, which are mentioned on the mirror. I think you can send your friends without any risk :o))
Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not worth the rating”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We ate at the BrasserieVlaming last year because this one was closed and had a very good meal there. In the interest of finding what the "mother Ship" could do, I booked a dinner here. It was disappointing based on the ratings. The menu is quite limited even including the daily offerings. We had the gravlaks (only okay) the shrimp (liked) , the fish which we think was perch (liked ) menu hanger steak (okay but cooked perfectly as ordered), and a few desserts. Service was very good and the atmosphere was friendly. This is a neighborhood restaurant that performs well. I do not know what generates its top ratings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MGRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans1951, Eigenaar at Restaurant Vlaming, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear guest from Atlanta, concerning the limited menu I answered to another review already:
small number of seats, small number of dishes: guaranteed fresh every day!!
We indeed are not a Michelin-star restaurant (and we don’t want to be) but we serve good, sustainable products with a quality – price relation which is appreciated by most of our guests. This ànd the very good service and the friendly atmosphere (as you wrote yourself) makes that most of the writers of reviews rate us so high. And to be honest: your judgement is also not too bad, so the 3 stars could have been 4 :o))
Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good outdoor setting”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

A good relaxed bistro with great food and great service. Its not the poshest place but it was good fun and very enjoyable.
I went for a relaxed business meal but it would have been good for couples too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vlaming also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vlaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing