We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Limited menu” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Vlaming

Restaurant Vlaming
Ranked #25 of 3,722 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $43
Cuisines: Dutch, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: A family owned bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie and home-made Limoncello.
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Limited menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

There were only 5 items on the menu on the evening we visited. Steak with blue cheese was good, risotto was average. Solid meal but not amazing. Probably wouldnt recommend it to a friend, but if you are in the area and looking for a meal - give it a go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans1951, Eigenaar at Restaurant Vlaming, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear guest, you’re right: we have a limited menu. As you must have noticed we also have just a small number of seats and thus, if we want to guarantee fresh products every day, we can’t offer too many different dishes. But there is choice for everybody: meat, fish and veggie. Apart from the menu there are some specials of the day, which are mentioned on the mirror. I think you can send your friends without any risk :o))
Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    202
    33
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not worth the rating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We ate at the BrasserieVlaming last year because this one was closed and had a very good meal there. In the interest of finding what the "mother Ship" could do, I booked a dinner here. It was disappointing based on the ratings. The menu is quite limited even including the daily offerings. We had the gravlaks (only okay) the shrimp (liked) , the fish which we think was perch (liked ) menu hanger steak (okay but cooked perfectly as ordered), and a few desserts. Service was very good and the atmosphere was friendly. This is a neighborhood restaurant that performs well. I do not know what generates its top ratings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MGRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans1951, Eigenaar at Restaurant Vlaming, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear guest from Atlanta, concerning the limited menu I answered to another review already:
small number of seats, small number of dishes: guaranteed fresh every day!!
We indeed are not a Michelin-star restaurant (and we don’t want to be) but we serve good, sustainable products with a quality – price relation which is appreciated by most of our guests. This ànd the very good service and the friendly atmosphere (as you wrote yourself) makes that most of the writers of reviews rate us so high. And to be honest: your judgement is also not too bad, so the 3 stars could have been 4 :o))
Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good outdoor setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

A good relaxed bistro with great food and great service. Its not the poshest place but it was good fun and very enjoyable.
I went for a relaxed business meal but it would have been good for couples too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We came for dinner with our two young children. We were made to feel very welcome right from the start, and both waitresses were incredibly warm and friendly, and good with the kids.

The four of us shared the "mixed starter for two", which was served on a three-tier platter and featured a small portion of every single starter on the menu, including the specials. Such a treat to get to try everything, and it meant the kids got to nibble on this and that but didn't get too full.

The children then shared a burger (which was sweetly served cut perfectly in half on two plates), the adults had sole and steak. All the mains were delicious, and the sides great too (I was grateful to the waitress for advising me against ordering a third side dish as the portions are huge!).

Finally, we shared sticky toffee pudding and yoghurt ice cream which were fab too. And I am pleased to report that unlike previous evenings elsewhere, the quality of the service did not decline as the evening wore on! So that we left the restaurant feeling very pleased with our choice for our last night in Amsterdam.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JEJJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia
Level Contributor
382 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Found on Tripadvisor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

As usual, the first thing we do when we're visiting a new town is check Tripadvisor for a good place to eat. The Vlaming is rated as one of the best.

We made reservations from the hotel for 6 PM, which is when they open. I think we could have been seated without a reservation, since we were the first ones there, but it didn't take long before other customers started coming in, and I did hear them being asked if they had reservations.

It's a small quaint place, nicely decorated.

The two waiters (owners?) were very friendly and attentive.

My wife and I shared a shrimp appetizer, tuna steak, French fries, vegetables, and a salad. And for desert we each had Limoncellos which they made there. It was all delicious and more than enough for the both of us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RSpicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vlaming also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vlaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing