We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very cosy, great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaming eten & drinken

Vlaming eten & drinken
Ranked #16 of 3,368 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: A family owned (father Frans & son Bob) bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very cosy, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We came here after reading the reviews in TripAdvisor, and everything is true :) the food was excellent, and the hospitality is wonderful! not a fancy place, but a quality place. The hamburger great, unique and one of a kind, and the steak was one of the best I've tried. Make sure you book a table, because it became a popular place during dinner hours.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    175
    30
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We went there because of all these great reviews. As a main course we had tuna and the fish of the day (salmon) with homemade fries. Tuna was well prepared but nothing special. Salmon was a bit too dry and quite a small slice. Fries were quite the average what they serve in most restaurants in Amsterdam. As a dessert we had their speciality sticky pie, which was once again ok but didn't take my tongue away. Odd thing was a strange smell near the wall (mould ?). As a total it was quite an average experience, and a disappointment compared to high reviews here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jarkko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A LITTLE JEWEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Booked this restaurant after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. We booked well in advance by phone and on arriving we mentioned that it was our wedding anniversary. Nothing was to much trouble for the very friendly waitress and chefs. The steak was incredible and the champagne flowed. When we ordered the sweet it came out with all the trimmings sparklers etc, and the whole restaurant joined in the celebration. We cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough, great food, fantastic staff and very friendly customers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bongobob60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fab Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Visited here after seeing the reviews on here.
I had the steak and it was lovely.
Staff were friendly and service was quick :)

Helpful?
Thank MonkeyGirlMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great food, cozy atmosphere, nice location, not crowded. The owner works at this place, she were very friendly and good to us. Food was very delicious, no matter what you order, everything will be high quality and good taste. I will defenately come back again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank turtlex85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaming eten & drinken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaming eten & drinken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing