We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Restaurant Vlaming

Restaurant Vlaming
Ranked #23 of 3,952 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $47
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: A family owned bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. We serve here the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie and home-made Limoncello.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We went there because of all these great reviews. As a main course we had tuna and the fish of the day (salmon) with homemade fries. Tuna was well prepared but nothing special. Salmon was a bit too dry and quite a small slice. Fries were quite the average what they serve in most restaurants in Amsterdam. As a dessert we had their speciality sticky pie, which was once again ok but didn't take my tongue away. Odd thing was a strange smell near the wall (mould ?). As a total it was quite an average experience, and a disappointment compared to high reviews here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jarkko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    226
    34
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A LITTLE JEWEL”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Booked this restaurant after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. We booked well in advance by phone and on arriving we mentioned that it was our wedding anniversary. Nothing was to much trouble for the very friendly waitress and chefs. The steak was incredible and the champagne flowed. When we ordered the sweet it came out with all the trimmings sparklers etc, and the whole restaurant joined in the celebration. We cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough, great food, fantastic staff and very friendly customers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bongobob60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fab Steak”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Visited here after seeing the reviews on here.
I had the steak and it was lovely.
Staff were friendly and service was quick :)

Helpful?
Thank MonkeyGirlMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Amsterdam”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great food, cozy atmosphere, nice location, not crowded. The owner works at this place, she were very friendly and good to us. Food was very delicious, no matter what you order, everything will be high quality and good taste. I will defenately come back again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank turtlex85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, unassuming and good restaurant”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Been with several friends after reading about it. I was a little disappointed at first by the interior. It did not seem the sort of place I would have chosen to go. Don't be fooled. The food is lovely and the service friendly. Prices are very reasonable. A perfect place to enjoy dinner with good friends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dramarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vlaming also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vlaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing