We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, unassuming and good restaurant”
Review of Restaurant Vlaming

Restaurant Vlaming
Ranked #29 of 3,814 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Dutch, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: A family owned bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. We serve here the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie and home-made Limoncello.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, unassuming and good restaurant”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Been with several friends after reading about it. I was a little disappointed at first by the interior. It did not seem the sort of place I would have chosen to go. Don't be fooled. The food is lovely and the service friendly. Prices are very reasonable. A perfect place to enjoy dinner with good friends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dramarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    216
    34
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice family run restaurant”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I brought my Dad here after reading all the amazing TA reviews.
The restaurant is nothng fancy, but it is cosy and inviting and very relaxed. It is run by a lovely family who provide excellent service and are very friendly and helpful.
The menu is fairly standard but the quality of the dishes is good and the food is very tasty. It is also located in a lovely part of town.
I wouldn't say that it should be as high as the current TA ranking, it's not a world class restaurant, or even close to the best in Amsterdam, but it is a nice restaurant if you're looking for a good food that wont break the bank. I

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovepeas111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super good!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend decided to go out for a special dinner and we found the right place!
The steak was perfect, the dessert delicious!
Jef is the best host!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A lovely authentic restaurant in the heart of Amsterdam”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We ate here on our last night in Amsterdam. We had read the reviews on trip advisor and were keen to try it. We booked via the website and received confirmation via email the following day. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly waitress and shown to a lovely little table. The restaurant was bustling, full of locals. The menu was small but all options were appealing. We particularly recommend the the mixed starters - a great opportunity to try load of different things. We then had the pork and the beef main courses. We really enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lotty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful, as usual”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Our third time returning to this wonderful little restaurant. Fabulous food, a little expensive but sooo worth it
:-)
Wine was great, service was great and food was great. Everything we have come to expect and have yet to be disappointed.
See you again soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vlaming also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vlaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing