We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding neighborhood place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vlaming eten & drinken

Vlaming eten & drinken
Ranked #21 of 3,562 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $43
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: A family owned (father Frans & son Bob) bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding neighborhood place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We wanted to eat in a neighborhood restaurant filled with locals eating great food -- and this place is IT. When we had dinner, we weren't aware of any other tourists there, the staff was really friendly and the food just excellent. It's great to walk through the Jordaan and wind up here, but it gets crowded so I would definitely make a reservation.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    190
    32
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great little Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This restaurant is a little bit out of the way - if walking probably a bit easier from the no 1 tram than No 3. You'll know what I mean if you look at a map.

We booked a table for a Saturday night - which is probably essential- and from the moment we arrived we felt welcome in a busy, cosy local restaurant. It is small, the menu is quite short but sufficiently varied to cater for most tastes- but most importantly it is delicious food. This is not fancy food, but very professional well cooked well presented great food. The 'ambiance' is adds hugely- the service is professional but very friendly- lots of banter amongst what I guess are locals/regulars and the owner ( I think) very much in evidence enjoying.....

Wine list with decent variety and was very happy to pay final bill. What more can I say?

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Vlaming is a great place to dine. Been there more than 5 times and it's a regular if you want to dine with friends or family. The menu is restricted to a max of 3 to 4 choices per course and all of them are well prepaired. Don't forget the wines! They are really good and you can choose per glad which I usually find easier if you have different courses. Around €35 for a decent meal with good service, rarely found in Amsterdam.

Helpful?
Thank Leo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Understated Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

DIned in both the Brasserie and the Restaurant. Both excellent. Small but interesting menu and excellent wine list. Neither place is large, so booking is advised. Both steaks and Tuna are cooked with precision in the open plan kitchen. Service is professional attentive; not intrusive. I went as part of a group; but would be idle fo ra candlelit romantic meal.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jamiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great simple food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This restaurant lives up to its reputation. It is unpretentious and simple in design, but the food is fantastic. We had the pork fillet and the fish of the day (swordfish) with sides of fresh beans, snow peas and mushrooms and pumpkin. The meat, fish and vegetables were perfectly cooked served with complimentary sauces. We had the yoghurt ice cream, and chocolate truffles for desert. They have a good selection of wines and the service was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant if you enjoy well cooked, unpretentious food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bella2515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaming eten & drinken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaming eten & drinken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing