We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple but super”
Review of Restaurant Vlaming

Restaurant Vlaming
Ranked #30 of 3,858 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: A family owned bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. We serve here the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie and home-made Limoncello.
Sway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“simple but super”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was a fabulous experience right from the start. The restaurant is small, obviously very popular and I had originally booked for two. However we had a late addition and when I called up they told me they were full but would sort something out, which they did. It was undoubtedly one of the best restaurants I have visited with a real cozy ambience. The food was excellent and the service quick and friendly. Pricing was spot on and expected for that level of restaurant. Definitely will be returning there in the near future.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    221
    34
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“5 star & more”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I found this restaurant recommended on trip advisor and booked a table for 6 people for Saturday 7th December after reading through the amazing reviews.
The restaurant itself looks like someone's living/dining room with a bar. Run by father and daughter team, Frans and Cleo, they couldn't have looked after us anymore. Cleo helped us with our choices, as we couldn't decide on our starter, she recommended the sampler which consisted of a little bit of everything. Parsnip soup, salmon, goat cheese with sundried tomato, beef carpaccio, veal, olives, prawns, mini bread roll, tuna wrapped in cucumber and more. It was delicious! Our mains were steaks for 4 and venison for 2. The venison I'm told was gorgeous and our steaks all cooked to perfection, medium rare? medium? not a problem. (In the past, in a steak restaurant we've had to return our steak, sometimes more than once!). I recommend trying the steak with black truffle sauce, heaven! We shared desserts of sticky toffee pudding, creme caramel and the mouth watering chocolate pudding with the melted chocolate centre (my favourite)!
Each meal has a wine recommendation and we went through two bottles of the Simonsig, Z-Af, pinotage. Thank you Cleo for the limoncello and for looking after us so well!
I highly recommend trying Valming eten and drinken and if I was to go to Amsterdam again, I wouldn't eat anywhere else!
Very close to Anne Franks house and we planned it so that it fit well with our itinerary.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sheln21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“simplicity at it's best”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My mum and I ate here last night while on a girly shopping trip. I cannot recommend it highly enough. The service was fantastic - friendly and helpful without being intrusive - and the menu was simple and tasty. I would really recommend the 'small bites' starter and the burger is possibly the best I have ever tasted! My mum's main was really tasty but a little overcooked, but having noticed she had not cleared her plate they politely enquired was everything ok and proceeded to offer a glass of Limóncello and also took the cost off the bill (more than generous in our opinion as frankly it was a minor complaint). The décor was warm and cosy and it was just generally a fantastic night. If you want well priced, delicious food in a comfortable atmosphere - this is the place to go.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beves24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

From the moment we stepped in and were greeted by name, we fell in love with this place.

Service was absolutely top-notch, attentive but not overbearing and nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious and the portions just right. The simple menu made deciding easy and the prices seemed fair for what you got.

We ended up so full the only thing we could think of doing afterwards was going to bed!

This restaurant really deserves it's place among the top in Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter102110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simple but really great - and amazing wine”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

really amazing hands on service - genuine homecooked food and super menu. superb amsterdam style of dining - small restaurant great ambience etc etc..... there are 2 x locations we ate in the second smaller one, large groups should go to the other one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walkerbrierley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vlaming also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vlaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing