We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaming eten & drinken

Vlaming eten & drinken
Ranked #17 of 3,377 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: A family owned (father Frans & son Bob) bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie.
Moscow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked the restaurant Sunday night through internet (tried VE&D, which appeared to be closed on Sunday and were suggested Brasserie).
We came at 18:30 ( half hour before the booking time) - there was a cue of people without booking, our table was waiting for us.
We took daily specials (soup & see bass) which were exceptionally good as well as a duck from menu. Wines selection is reasonably balanced between price and alternatives. Both menu and wine list are not too long, but considering the quality of food and size of the place it seems absolutely fine.
Thing to consider - portions are very generous, so we didn't even try deserts.
Looking forward to coming back next time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaKuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    175
    30
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
geneva
Level Contributor
414 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great ambience and food....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Went as a family of five to this small eatery.
Service was great and friendly.Food was excellent.We had grilled Tuna(perfect) and a delicious
Rib-eye.Wine choices were very good.Food is cooked in an open kitchen so very fresh.
I only have praises for this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank angelo65Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming small family run restaurant. Beautiful food ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

As recommend by another review we emailed to make a reservation and received a lovely response.

A small menu, as the father explained they want to provide quality not quantity. And he was right.

The father and daughter were serving and they were very friendly and welcoming.

We had the steak and loin of pork. Both top quality. Also creme brûlée was perfect.

We both loved it and would highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Aseoighe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“really number 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This restaurant has a limited menu, but they are very good at preparing what they have on the menu.
Never ever in your life you should try to miss the desert Sticky Toffee Pie = Must have this one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Go_Vacati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
216 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Warm and inviting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were lucky enough to get a table on a very cool rainy night without a reservation. It is small downstairs but has more tables upstairs. The food was delicious and nicely presented. The atmosphere is casual and relaxed although it did get warmer upstairs as the evening progressed. Our meals were satisfying and delicious. Will go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaming eten & drinken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaming eten & drinken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing