We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best steak and sticky date pudding...EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaming eten & drinken

Vlaming eten & drinken
Ranked #16 of 3,368 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: A family owned (father Frans & son Bob) bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best steak and sticky date pudding...EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a back-up dinner option as our first option was closed, but I'm SOO glad we went here as it was the best meal I've had in a very long time! I had the steak with blue cheese sauce and the sticky date pudding. AMAZING!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank plyons89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    175
    30
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had dinner here while on a short break in Amsterdam, having read about the restaurant on Tripadvisor. The is a small, unpretentious restaurant, with charming hosts. From a simple, but excellent menu, we chose the mixed starter, which turned out to be small portions of each of the starters on the menu - delicious! Our other choices were equally as good and we rounded off the meal with a fantastic sticky toffee pudding. Service throughout was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thamesians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lovely little restaurant/bar away from the main tourist area. The mushroom and asparagus risotto was fantastic - well cooked and delicious. The burger looked & tasted amazing. Very friendly and attentive service. They even offer blankets for those sitting outside on a chilly night. I recommend it to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great casual dining experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Ate here one night when I wanted an informal business meal. My colleague and I sat outside. The weather was great. The service was great. The food was great. If/when I return to Amsterdam, this place will definitely be on my list of places to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JayPDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best steak I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Amazing steak and blue cheese sauce!! Gorgeous, melt in the mouth, perfectly cooked. Friendly bilingual service and cozy atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rktori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaming eten & drinken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaming eten & drinken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing