We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“ENTHUSIASM ABOUNDS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaming eten & drinken

Vlaming eten & drinken
Ranked #13 of 3,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: A family owned (father Frans & son Bob) bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie.
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“ENTHUSIASM ABOUNDS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Found this from tripadvisor. Owner run restaurant, small menu but most choices covered. I even managed to get a simple cocktail here before dinner which has been sadly lacking in Amsterdam. There was a particularly noisy party at the next table but guess this is not easy to manage and the acoustics not great as small room. They check that you are enjoying the food and really mean it. Worth a try

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank biffoBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    178
    30
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So much fun...such good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Joyful family-run restaurant with simply delicious food. Nice wine list. Cozy atmosphere. Honestly, my steak with blue cheese sauce was just, simply, positively perfect-o.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glamahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Brilliant food, brilliant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

After seeing the amount of positive comments about this restaurant on tripadvisor, we decided to give it a try. Our expectations were high going into it, and coming out we felt they had been exceeded. On first look it may appear a little pricey, but the food is wonderful, and well worth the money you pay! Service was very quick, and the people were very nice and easy to make conversation with. They also gave a lot of advice on transport and things to see, which we were very grateful for. This place is a gem as many others have said, great food, great service, great atmosphere, perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CallumS9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

One evening in Amstedam and we were lucky enough to get a table here. The staff was friendly and helpful, the meal delicious. We could see into the small kitchen from our table and watch the energetic preparation. Portions are generous and sharing is not a problem - in fact our waiter actually encouraged it! Be sure to reserve, even by dropping in early in the evening as we did because we lost our phone in Paris.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nancyjackathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and wine, kind staff at low cost.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We eat the best tuna steak with an excellent ermita veracruz wine. Delicious! The staff is very kind and the athmosphere relaxed. They offer to us their homemade limoncello. 5 stars!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oriodesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaming eten & drinken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaming eten & drinken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing