We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun...such good food”
Review of Restaurant Vlaming

Restaurant Vlaming
Ranked #29 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: A family owned bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. We serve here the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie and home-made Limoncello.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So much fun...such good food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Joyful family-run restaurant with simply delicious food. Nice wine list. Cozy atmosphere. Honestly, my steak with blue cheese sauce was just, simply, positively perfect-o.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glamahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    221
    34
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Brilliant food, brilliant service”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After seeing the amount of positive comments about this restaurant on tripadvisor, we decided to give it a try. Our expectations were high going into it, and coming out we felt they had been exceeded. On first look it may appear a little pricey, but the food is wonderful, and well worth the money you pay! Service was very quick, and the people were very nice and easy to make conversation with. They also gave a lot of advice on transport and things to see, which we were very grateful for. This place is a gem as many others have said, great food, great service, great atmosphere, perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CallumS9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

One evening in Amstedam and we were lucky enough to get a table here. The staff was friendly and helpful, the meal delicious. We could see into the small kitchen from our table and watch the energetic preparation. Portions are generous and sharing is not a problem - in fact our waiter actually encouraged it! Be sure to reserve, even by dropping in early in the evening as we did because we lost our phone in Paris.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancyjackathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and wine, kind staff at low cost.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We eat the best tuna steak with an excellent ermita veracruz wine. Delicious! The staff is very kind and the athmosphere relaxed. They offer to us their homemade limoncello. 5 stars!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oriodesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
340 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Relief from Paris”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had emailed the staff at Vlaming eten & drinken a couple of weeks ago about a reservation for a family of four. The restaurant has excellent reviews and has been recommended to me personally by friends. Unfortunately we did not receive a confirmation via email. We arrived Amsterdam yesterday after 4 days in Paris. We were trying to make dinner plans last night when my phone rang and it was the staff at Vlaming asking if we would make our reservation. I said we could not make 7:00 but if they could seat us at 8:00 we could make it. They accommodated and it was the best meal we've had in 9 days in Europe and it was the most reasonable. The staff made us feel welcome, very welcome, to join them. They were fantastic with our kids and provided us with an outstanding meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grantman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vlaming also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vlaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing