We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relief from Paris”
Review of Restaurant Vlaming

Restaurant Vlaming
Ranked #23 of 3,952 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $47
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: A family owned bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. We serve here the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie and home-made Limoncello.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Relief from Paris”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had emailed the staff at Vlaming eten & drinken a couple of weeks ago about a reservation for a family of four. The restaurant has excellent reviews and has been recommended to me personally by friends. Unfortunately we did not receive a confirmation via email. We arrived Amsterdam yesterday after 4 days in Paris. We were trying to make dinner plans last night when my phone rang and it was the staff at Vlaming asking if we would make our reservation. I said we could not make 7:00 but if they could seat us at 8:00 we could make it. They accommodated and it was the best meal we've had in 9 days in Europe and it was the most reasonable. The staff made us feel welcome, very welcome, to join them. They were fantastic with our kids and provided us with an outstanding meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grantman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    225
    34
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
1,038 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 778 helpful votes
“Good quality with attentive service”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is small but very pleasant. We arrived without reservation and were fortunate to get outside seating.

We chose some of the day’s specials on the recommendation and unstinting advice of the waiter. These were excellent. We accompanied them with good Dutch beer that was very refreshing in the hot evening.

It is a lovely location, on a not too busy street. It was very pleasant relaxing and watching the pedestrians and many cyclists go by. The waiter was very pleasant, taking time over every detail.

A lovely dining occasion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank permia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place with an excellent food and a vert good price-quality relation.
Salmon Gradlax is marvelous and tuna is perfectly cooked.
Service is absolutly charming!
A large choice of wine glasses.

Helpful?
1 Thank Schnacka
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Romania, Bucharest
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Small, excellent!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Great service and tasty food, small menu.
I recommend reservation. I used the email.

The ower is always present.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Courage2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Using the tripadvisor reviews for this restaurant gave us confidence before we arrived. We were not disappointed. The friendliness, menu and service were excellent. The generous carafe of wine was lovely too.
Go and eat here. You will love it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stormbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vlaming also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vlaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing