We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Memories of Southall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tandoor Special Indian Restaurant

Tandoor Special Indian Restaurant
Ranked #781 of 3,557 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
312 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Memories of Southall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Although there are quite a few Indian restaurants in the Netherlands nowadays, I have yet to impressed. Most of them in Amsterdam are pure and simple tourist traps, while the ones in the periphery usually serve bland, Europeanised dishes.

Tandoor looks clean, spacious and neat for an Indian restaurant. It has a semi-open kitchen, that is: you can see the tandoori oven behind a glass wall.

The appetizer that we had, onion bhajee, was quite edible but not the crunchy ones that we'd expected. The main dishes, chicken masala and palak paneer, were both very tasty. Especially the chicken masala was lip-smackingly good, reminding me of the best Indian dishes I'd had in nearly authentic Indian eateries in Southall, London.

The staff was remotely friendly, but tolerable. More to our liking was the bill: 50 Euro including beer and tea.

Acchaa!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Venneper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    41
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!!! Finger-licking good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

By far the best Indian restaurant I visited in the Netherlands. Great food, perfect location and excellent choice of menu for vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike.

Get a refreshingly 'Authentic" Dhaba (Indian's most famous food joints along highways) style salad :-).

An easy choice to recommend to people who love Indian food, Indian style.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Prashanth_Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food great staff great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on this restaurant after walking round a very busy Amsterdam, we wanted somewhere off the main tourist stretch where you pay high prices for not so good food,
So glad we found this place,food is the best Indian food we've had since visiting India and there was so much of it we couldn't eat it all,the staff were very polite and helpful.When in Amsterdam next we will defiantly visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank holigogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Indian food we ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Good value (for Amsterdam), great location (Leidesplein), and DELICIOUS food! We ordered a few entrees and shared them. Especially enjoyed the Cobra beer, Madras Chicken, Samosas, and Lamb Biryani (sp?)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dkkreiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food and attentive Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have eaten here twice, once with a 3 course Groupon and since then because I had a positive experience the first time. They had delicious food, a nice atmosphere and friendly and attentive service. I would recommend Tandoor for Indian. Also very easy to get to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susieseeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoor Special Indian Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tandoor Special Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing