We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Irish Pub in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St James's Gate Irish Pub

St James's Gate Irish Pub
Ranked #195 of 3,323 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $29
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: St James's Gate is a large Irish Pub authentically and tastefully decorated and perfect for large groups of people. With its large bar and spacious seating area in the front, a very cosy, warm and intimate area in the back, St James's Gate appeals to many. Despite being relatively new St James's Gate has a good clientel mainly due to the amiable staff who are predominantly Irish. Drinking here you'll have a wide selection of Irish beers and whiskeys and with the resident Irish chef you'll get absolutely delicious food and before you know it you'll be a regular customer to St James's Gate.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Irish Pub in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stopped in for dinner in Amsterdam. I've eaten here a few times and have had good food each time. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. My favorite tip for people traveling abroad and don't speak the local language...find an Irish pub, they will speak English, you'll have a good time, and you can ask about other local places to visit as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AaronB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    208
    63
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This bar was the saving grace for a vegetarian in Amsterdam! Really great food, fairly good value and good portion sizes. I couldn't get enough of the cheese spring rolls and the veggie burger was lovely.
I would recommend sitting outside unless you are a big sports fan; outside is a good place to people-watch and soak up the atmosphere. Great and fast customer service. Would recommend!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koper
Level Contributor
230 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice pub in Rembrandtsplein.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Here we had a plate of Dutch typicall snacks (very good ----balls, cheese.just one strange piece of raw mixed meat I didn't try). Noone asked me to pay for a toilet, as it was written before.

If you sit inside, don't sit straight from the doors, it can be quite windy.

If you have sweet tooth, try their typical apple pie, it was delicius!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 123321_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Pricey drink and 50 cent for toilet..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a trip to Amsterdam.. We visted st James Irish gate bar on three occassions.. Food is ok and staff are friendly, drink is fairly over priced with a pint of cider costing 8 euro but i have to say what was out rageous was a charge of 50 cent for use of the toiltet... We were travelling in a party of 4 and between breakfast and dinner we left quiet a few pound there and i think to be followed out of a toiltet for 50 cent is crazy...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank denasheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“cold guinness and a hot stew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you are out site seeing all day as my wife and I were doing, and it is time for that cold beer at the end of day with a great meal, look no further as we stumpled onto this great Irish pub, we enjoyed a few cold Guinness with a nice hot Irish stew.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St James's Gate Irish Pub also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to St James's Gate Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing