We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love Boat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Love Houseboat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Love Houseboat
Ranked #55 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love Boat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed on the boat for three nights and had a fantastic time. I would definitely go back to Amsterdam and I would hesitate to stay anywhere else.

The boat is situated very close to Centraal Station, tourist information and tram stops which makes getting to and from the airport/ and navigating the city. The location is quaint and authentic - the surrounding houseboat owners are friendly and helpful but non-invasive. Bikes are available to rent from a neighbouring boat.

The boat has been decorated in a unique fashion and there are many curiosities to be found in the nooks and crannies of the boat. The original features of the boat are lovely. It has been decorated in a romantic way that is very suited to couples but could still be enjoyed by other types of groups.

The Love boat is on the Lower Deck so the stairs - as mentioned before - are steep. I would disagree with anyone that says noise is an issue. When you're in the Love Boat it genuinely feels as if the whole boat is completely your own.

It is really handy being able to communicate with the 'hosts' of the boat before and during the stay.

No complaints at all!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LolsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    20
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
18
69
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Excellent Stay – Highly Recommended!!



We were a group of four stayed in the new love house boat and enjoyed every bit of it. On arrival Nina [Owner] took time out to explain how the boat works, what to expect, do’s and don’ts. This was very helpful and also marked us out on a map and recommended a few places to eat. The owners live close by in a house boat of their own which is worth a visit [of course with their permission]. The new love boat is one half of a big boat where the living quarters are on the first level and the lower level are the beds, toilet and washroom. We had a family of ducks & swans visit us every morning to join us for breakfast along with a whole lot of sea gulls which added to the feeding experience. If you want the experience of staying the way the Dutch do; then please do the house boat. The New Love Boat is one of the 4 houseboats so you do have a choice of which best suits you. We were so impressed with the houseboat that we spent most of our time in the houseboat.



- Location is perfect; very close to most attractions in Amsterdam.

- Walkable distance to the central station.

- Ample for a family or a group of 4.

- Adequate sit out areas.

- Well equipped kitchen.

- On site car parking.

- Very helpful and professional owners.

- Good heating system.

- Centrum, RLD, all within walking distance.

- No noise pollution.

- Good experience!!



Note: Please note that the upper and lower levels are accessible via a steep staircase which was ok with us but not for people with mobility issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AtlaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Forget everywhere else... this boat is where it's at! Such a novelty.. but at the same time it has all the practicalities you would ever need or want in holiday accommodation. The other reviews comprehensively outline all the advantages of this boat so I won't reiterate but I'll just add that it really is a special place, a hotel could never compare and it's even less expensive in some cases. I hope to return here one day.. truly awesome trip, a holiday with a difference. I would highly recommend, especially to couples...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 9LuckyTatties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

it was absolutely nice to live on the boat! the hosts are very friendly and cooperative- I have often been to amsterdam, but that stay on their houseboat was unique! we felt welcome and we will come back for sure !!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on the sunset boat from 18th - 26th November. Nice central location excellent hosts. Will definitely be returning next year. Would definitely like to try the other boats that they have to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cateboddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have stayed on these boats 3 times now and currently planning a 4th stay!

It's the best way to spend a holiday especially when there is a group of you. You can also cook on board so this helps cut costs if your visiting on a budget!

It's best for location just 5 minutes from well everything! You can see the central station from them.

The hosts are really friendly and nothing is ever too much bother.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is visiting the beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danni201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Hello,

This was my first visit to Amsterdam with 3 other people.

We stayed on the music houseboat for 3 nights.
Location is brilliant, very close to the main station but not touristy at all in a very good way.
Nina and Eric were incredibly accommodating and friendly.
I loved staying on the boat itself. It added a real special feel to my first trip, and it was also my first stay on a houseboat so a double first.
The main living area is very spacious and I don't have anything negative to write here.
I forgot to take my phone charger with me which Nina very kindly posted back to me which was brilliant as I didn't have a spare.
It was unfortunately a rainy weekend but the boat was warm and dry.
We met 2 friends we hadn't seem for a while in Amsterdam and I can't think of a better way to have done it.
Thanks to Nina and Eric and I would recommend the stay if you are undecided.
All the best
Terence x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trance D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
The Guest-Houseboat
The Guest-Houseboat
#85 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Jordaan
Ark16
Ark16
#94 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Bed Breakfast Boat
Bed Breakfast Boat
#42 of 221 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Vita Nova
Vita Nova
#125 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Houseboat under the Mill
#88 of 221 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Love Houseboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Love Houseboat

Property: Amsterdam Love Houseboat
Address: Oosterdok, 1011TE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam HouseBoat is a most beautiful and romantic large sea ship on top location in the heart of Amsterdam: Central Station, NieuwMarkt, Oosterdok, Red Light District, Dam Square, China Town, Waterloo Flea market, Nemo, the New Library... Are just a few minutes from your front door. Private parking,(upon request) large sun decks, free fast internet, bedlinen towels & kitchen utensils, fully furnished, smoking friendly and all the VIP services you wish for. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing