We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Incomparable place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Love Houseboat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Love Houseboat
Save
You added Amsterdam Love Houseboat to your Saves list
Ranked #55 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Incomparable place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I've stayed in many places in Amsterdam, hotels, rooms and appartments, but this place is unforgettable! Being on the water in the middle of the city, on a beautiful ship, with the freedom no hotel can give and a clean and warm atmosphere - great! Apparently all ships belonging to Love houseboat have a 'feeling' of their own and I'm gonna try them all. Great hosts - unforgettable!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaartjemoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    20
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
18
68
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The houseboat is great for a couple who want privacy with character and a great central location near the station, water and all facilities. So you can self cater or eat out as you wish. Recommended to all except the most conventional.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

One of our best trip ever in Amsterdam was in the loveboat ! We enjoyed a fantastic and romantic week-end there !
We've been there several times and we don't want to stay elsewhere when we visit the city. The boat in itself is super well equipped, you feel at home, you feel like you're a Dam citizen, it is so original and the owners are adorable ! It is really close to the city center and when you compare prices of hotels located nearby, there is no hesitation possible !

I always recommend the loveboat to all my friends who want to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraipont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington MA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We've gone to Amsterdam five times, staying in a hotel on Bloemgracht, a garden house, a canal boat on Prinsengracht, and a three story apartment on Kiezersgracht; my favorite place yet has been in what was formerly a North Sea trawler: the wonderfully transformed Love Houseboat. Location, atmosphere, comforts, and friendly responsive management make this a memorable place to stay for travelers who love to stay someplace special.

Five minutes walk gets you to Amsterdam Central train station, the Maritime Museum, or the Red Light district. There is a grocery store just a short walk away, so you can pick up necessaries to prepare in the Love's small but well appointed galley (refrigerator, stove, counter space, sink, dishes, some shelves) on your way home. A large bathroom right up in the bow -fitted with an unforgettable watertight hatch- is equipped with a nice big bathtub, and when you're fully relaxed and well fed, you can sprawl on the large settee -kind of a cross between a bed and a couch- or sit at the enormous saloon table and chat or work. At the far end, tucked behind the companionway, a large comfortable bed should provide plenty of space for a good night's sleep.

One thing to keep in mind, especially if you're distracted by the appeal of easy access to Amsterdam's charms and amenities, is that this is a boat, originally designed to weather the North Sea. As such, you need to be prepared to access your Love nest via the companionway, which is essentially a ladder leading from the deck: not ideal for those with problems of mobility. Part of the romantic appeal of this rental is the way that it is very much a place apart. If you want to contemplate Amsterdam's wonderful skyline or sit and watch the city there is a lovely deck area with a table and chairs; once you go below, however, don't expect to spend time gazing out the window at the boats passing by, since all the windows are skylights. Given the location -and the massive construction project just across the water- we had been a little concerned about noise, but we were pleased to find that with a few inches of steel around us, the city noises were almost entirely blocked out. I found myself, on a couple of rainy cold days, longing to return to the boat and close the hatches and spend the afternoon cozy and comfortable down below.

It would be a big mistake to not put in a word about Katrina and her husband, the owner/operators of the Love. Our hosts made me feel that we were special guests, they were visible, approachable, and reliable without being intrusive, overly friendly, or fussy. This is not a coincierge hotel, nor is it an amateur operation created just to make money off tourists. These people care about your comfort, are genuine and kind, and have an interest in maintaining a good reputation, so if you're a considerate, quiet couple with realistic expectations you might find a place in Love that you'll want to return to again and again.

Room Tip: we stayed below and forward
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewArlingtonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamLoveBoat, Owner at Amsterdam Love Houseboat, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Thank you AndrewA for all your kind words!
I think you will be more than happy to know that the massive construction project across the water has resulted in an extraordinary beautiful library -OBA-, a Conservatory and the impressive Mint hotel, each of the buildings worth a visit for it 's architecture, and -especially for you as a photographer- : for it's splendid views.
Can't wait to see photo's of the LoveBoat by you, taken from the Sky lounges and TopFloor Restaurants opposite us.
Hope to see you back soon,
warm regards from Amsterdam, Katarina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

My wife & I and four friends enjoyed a brilliant long weekend in Amsterdam which was superbly complimented by our stay on the Love Houseboat. All six of us had visited the previous November and stayed at a branded (anonymous) hotel, so staying on a houseboat was a refreshing alternative. The key bonuses for us all were that we couldn't have asked for a better base and such welcoming & friendly hosts, thank you Katarina & Eric.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadge67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The folks at Love Houseboat have had me as a guest several times. They have always been very welcoming, kind and provided the best possible accommodations. The houseboats (they have several to choose from) are perfect for the single traveller, couples or large groups because all the boats have furniture that can change into beds. Each boat has it's own full kitchen, tv, Internet access, bedrooms, bathrooms and some have observation decks so you have space to hang out outside too!

I can't say enough about the quality of the accommodations! The boats are all located a short walk from centraal station, or you can use the taxi service that they recommend. The boats are also a 5 minute walk from the red light district, about 10 minutes to dam square and 5 minutes from a grocery store and tons of great restaurants and bars!

The folks at love houseboat will make sure you have a home away from home each time you are in Amsterdam. The prices are competitive with mid level hotels but who would stay in a one room hotel when you can have a whole houseboat to yourself and experience one of the things that makes Amsterdam so unique?? Give the love houseboat a try, I promise you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erlend_Oye_Wanna_Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
The Guest-Houseboat
The Guest-Houseboat
#75 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Bed Breakfast Boat
Bed Breakfast Boat
#35 of 217 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Houseboat under the Mill
#87 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Vita Nova
Vita Nova
#113 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Jordaan
Ark16
Ark16
#117 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Love Houseboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Love Houseboat

Property: Amsterdam Love Houseboat
Address: Oosterdok, 1011 TE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam HouseBoat is a most beautiful and romantic large sea ship on top location in the heart of Amsterdam: Central Station, NieuwMarkt, Oosterdok, Red Light District, Dam Square, China Town, Waterloo Flea market, Nemo, the New Library... Are just a few minutes from your front door. Private parking,(upon request) large sun decks, free fast internet, bedlinen towels & kitchen utensils, fully furnished, smoking friendly and all the VIP services you wish for. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing