We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Graves Restaurant - Wijnbar - CLOSED

Graves Restaurant - Wijnbar
Price range: $16 - $21
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
183 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Refined French food, top rate wine selection and menu. Trust the chef and the sommelier, you will not be disappointed. I will be back! Lovely location and beautiful building. Good service, value for the price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NDCGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You like wine? Go here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This restaurant really is not a "café" but, well, really a restaurant and wine bar. They have over 80 French wines by the glass and waiters who can tell you a lot about them. Wines come with small dishes that are fine-tuned for great flavor combinations.

The waiter explained us that the four-course and six-course menu are just the same amount of food, with the six course menu you just get to try more flavors. We had the four course menu and each dish comes with its own wine... And a story about it by the waiter so you get to learn a lot about French wines! If you are up for a romantic night out and don't want to be "disturbed" by the waiter I suggest you tell them in advance.

Even though the courses are small, the food was plenty, and so is the wine! However if you don't like to drink four glasses, do as I did, and ask for half glasses each time so you try everything without feeling tipsy afterwards. Also, though the menus are not à la carte the chef takes into account your food allergies and preferences so just tell them.

The dinner was a great experience for our group of 6 and on top of that Graves really doesn't break the bank. My check was something like 400 euro.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rogiervanderheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
660 reviews
459 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,028 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Beautiful venue tucked behind Dam Square. Near the red light district. Most expensive wine we had on our weekend and not the best!!! Did not eat just popped in for a drink so cant comment on the food but it was busy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sea98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have eaten here twice in the last year or so, and both times the food, wine and service was excellent. The food is absolutely the best quality and especially for the price. Both times had the set menu with wine pairings and the information provided by the waiter about the wines was extensive and helpful. The restaurant is beautiful and the whole experience (both times) was top notch! One of my favorites in Amsterdam....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaneGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High on our "Must Visit" list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We've visited Amsterdam once a year for many years and Cafe Graves is one of the few places we make a point of visiting each time.

We're happy to select a 4 or 6 course menu and then leave the dish selection in the care of the staff from what specials they have available. We've also started to opt for the wine pairings which I thought might be a bit precious but it really does enhance the dining experience.

The selection of wines are fabulous and the staff really know their stuff.

The food is out of this world - always some old favourites as well as new dishes on the menu - excellent value.

If you're in Amsterdam, do visit and you too will be hooked...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graves Restaurant - Wijnbar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing