We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another hidden Amsterdam treasure”
Review of Graves Restaurant - Wijnbar - CLOSED

Graves Restaurant - Wijnbar
Price range: $17 - $22
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
419 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Another hidden Amsterdam treasure”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This place is just amazing. It may not be far from the tourist hangouts, but even for a native it happens to hide away on a small side street, completely unnoticable. You'll walk past a few dodgy bars & coffeeshops and suddenly you are there: a beautiful if unassuming French restaurant. The surprise menu is gorgeous with wine pairings of small producer wines coming from a local specialist importer, Chabrol. Especially the starters and the desserts are mind-blowing, definite Michelin quality at reasonable price, like another reviewer said. Give the restaurant a call and see if you can get a table: we managed same-day seating. Start off with the house aperitif, a sort of vermouth that gets your appetite racing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LassiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
156 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great food and wine!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

While the street outside may not be as tidy as you'd like, this restaurant is the real deal. We ordered the chef's dinner of 4 courses with wine pairings for each dish. Delicious and beautifully presented food with lovely wines for each course were served flawleesly. Details about each wine was a bonus. All this for a great price too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TMM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Just had to leave a review about a superb dining experience my fiancee and myself had in this restaurant 2 days ago, we are quite spoiled and were impressed from amuses (spicy red beet gazpacho with Dutch shrimps), starters & main course (superb lobster bisque with foam of king crab, perfectly baked scallops, asparagus, organic lamb, everything with perfect cuisson and sauces) until cheeses and dessert (i think the best i ever had: asparagus ice cream with basil and strawberries). We were overwhelmed by the quality of the cooking and the wine pairing, we tasted impressive and highly original French wines that we will never forget (took pictures of the labels). Thank you Graves for a great evening

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Michelin-star food, wine & service, at cafe-prices”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had a wonderful evening at this lovely restaurant. Service, food and ambience are all at top level, and the wines are worldclass!! This is a hidden gem right in the middle of the city, even for us locals it's nice to find a place like this. We will certainly become regulars here. Price/quality ratio is exceptionally good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BasvdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“French cuisine, excellent wine selection”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We went for the "Chef's choice" menu - and it was excellent!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RitaBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graves Restaurant - Wijnbar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing