We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good hotel will definately revisit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #102 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel will definately revisit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Lovely hotel in great location by dam square.very quiet hotel even though on main street couldnt hear any noise. Room was clean and shower was lovely but toilet cubicle was far too small and lock kept getting stuck. If it wasnt for toilet it would have been great. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Bexter, thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read you had a good and very quiet stay. We will take a look at the toilet, thank you for pointing this out. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    392
    136
    54
    48
See reviews for
49
520
76
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was by far the worst 3 star hotel i have ever stayed in. The room was so small our luggage, not large, couldn't be wheeled across the room. The only place they could place a hair dryer was in the safe. There was nowhere to hang wet clothes except on a wall with 3 hangers, the window coverings, closed to hide the horrible view, were torn and tattered as were the furnishings in the narrow hallways. I have stayed at much better Amsterdam hotels for less money. It was so bad that we only stayed one night even though we paid for three. It is located on one of the busiest streets in the city with crowds and noise 24/7.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marilyn243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Marilyn, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are sorry to hear your stay wasn't what you expected it to be. We have rooms from 1 to 5 stars. The more stars, the bigger the room. We also have rooms located at the backside of the hotel, it is very quiete at that side. Best regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and it was one good stay for sure. The hotel is located in the perfect location if you want to stay near the dam Square area. It is 3 min walk from the Centraal station to the hotel and within the next 2 min you will be in the center of Dam square.

The rooms are all creatively designed. We were initially given a room on the 4th floor facing the front side but there is some construction going on in front of the hotel so that room was too noisy for us. We called the reception and they moved our room right away and we got on the 6th floor. A very quiet, clean and cosy room. The staff is also very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is very basic for your stay so apart from the toiletries, you will need to get your own supplies like water and maybe soft slippers if you intend to stay more in room and don't want to get in bed with dirty feet. :)

The shower was amazing, bed was as comfortable as you would want on an Amsterdam trip and all the nice food places are within your walking distance so go crazy..

Loved the stay, will definitely come and stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sadaf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Sadaf, thank you for your review. It's nice to read you had a good stay and loved the hotel. We are happy to read the reception changed rooms, you had an amazing shower and comfortable bed. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights for a short honeymoon, hotel staff very helpful and friendly, room was small but clean and bed very comfortable. We booked through Hotwire so were unable to choose a room and we wish we had as 2 hangers for 2 people staying for 3 nights was not really practical! Really enjoyed our stay (even with all the construction noise coming from the main street) and would liked to have seen some of the other quirky rooms but we are unlikely to return to Amsterdam. One small criticism was that when we were in our room we felt that we had to keep the blind closed as the room was visible from the corridor and as people were walking past they were looking in to our room! But all in all brilliant location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Sarah, thank you for your review. Congratulations with your honeymoon! We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you for pointing out the small amount of hangers in your room, we immediately brought some more. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I travel quite allot and i have seen allot of hotels, but this one is one of my favorites.
Small, cozy, friendly, hard to describe but it feels almost like home.

The location is perfect, 5 min walk from the central station, on if the best shopping streets right next to the hotel, tour boats right acros the street.
Well dead center of all the action in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Jesper, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very happy to read that we are one of your favorite hotels and that you felt like home during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Its a very basic hotel, but provides all the basic needs. clean rooms, clean beds. they also provide towels and shampoo in the shower. the room I stayed in had a very nice view on Damrak street. the staff also friendly and helpful.

I did not try the breakfast since the excellent location of the hotel gives you access to many restaurants. it is also very close to the central station and some tour agencies.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Damrak street have an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Alexander, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you had everything you needed in Hotel The Exchange. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Having booked a 3 star Secret Hotel with Expedia, I was pleasantly surprised to be given this hotel. The Tripadvisor reviews on the whole are positive, and the location seemed perfect, very central. I read about the grading of the rooms, but trusted that I would get the 3 star room I had booked and paid for, and again was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a 4 star room on check in. I also found the hotel without too much trouble as again I had read the comments about the entrance being hard to find. So far, so good.

The trouble with being quirky is that it sometimes in trying so hard to be different, the basics can be forgotten. Yes, it is not the biggest 4 star room I have ever stayed in, but space in Amsterdam is a premium. What annoyed is the lack of thought of comfort for the customer. There was only one bedside table, despite being room on either side of the bed, so my book, reading glasses and other rubbish I keep such as a tissue for blowing my nose had to be left on the floor. Talking of the floor - no carpet or rug?? I know it can get hot in summer, but it can be cold in the winter, and a plain plastered floor doesn't exactly scream 4 star. The only hanging space was one freestanding coat rack (the type James Bond used to throw his hat onto in Moneypenny's office thus showing my age). If I had wanted to unpack for my 3 night stay there was absolutely no way of doing so - no drawers, no cupboards.

The complete lack of public facilities was also a big drawback, and made me feel much more like I was staying in a hostel than a hotel. There was one seating area that I found, cornered around a corridor and the back of the lift, not exactly conducive to relaxing. There was a coin operated machine dispensing wine, beer and soft drinks. The reception was a kiosk as small as the entrance door, but I do have to complement the staff as all being very friendly and helpful. If you wanted to go to the café that was obviously attached to the hotel you had to go outside into the street, although you could clearly see it through the big glass panels - surely a door to connect the two?

As for the location, yes, extremely central, but unfortunately not the nicest. Loads of restaurants if you like chips with everything, and more like Times Square or Blackpool seafront. Maybe I am not the target market and too old to be staying in a hotel like this, but the prices charged, even on the saver rate would make it pricey for others who might appreciate the quirkiness / not care about the facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanishmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you were pleasantly surprised that Expedia booked Hotel The Exchange as a Secret Hotel for you. When designing Hotel The Exchange we were faced with some challenges, mainly in finding the right mix between design and functionality. I would like to apologize that you had to experience one of our challenging design issues. We are sorry to hear that you haven't found the two other public spaces that are situated on the second and third floor of the hotel. Those two public spaces are more relaxing than the one on the first floor. Thank you for the compliments about the staff. We hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#55 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#99 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,541 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Property: Hotel The Exchange
Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing