We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend”
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #118 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Me and my boyfriend visited here in 2013 and was amazed. The only thing I have to say is that the hotel's entrance is sooooo narrow that it's difficult to spot (we walked past three times!) basically it is on the street directly in front of Amsterdam Central so it is the perfect location. Everything is within walking distance although we rode the tram to Amsterdam Zoo which was very straightforward. The room was an Arabian themed it was beautiful and the bed was huge and the most comfortable stay I have ever had! Hotel was very clean and I have no negatives at all. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reeny94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Reeny, thank you for writing a review about your stay in 2013. We really appreciate it that you took the time to write a review about a stay that is a couple of months ago. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and in Hotel The Exchange. The entrance of the hotel used to be an alley between two buildings which belong to the hotel, that's the reason that it is so small. The good news is that we are now having a big number 50 next to the entrance, which makes it easier to find the hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 520 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel was a 5 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal station, the entrance is a little bit hard to find so keep your eye open for it! Check in was a breeze and the staff were very helpful and polite. They don't accept cash so make sure to bring a credit card. I am pretty certain that we booked a 1 star room through Expedia for a very reasonable price so we were expecting a tiny room and tiny bed, so we were very pleasantly surprised to get a queen bed in a fairly big room facing Damrak. We were very grateful for the upgrade.

The ceilings were a bit low (and coming from someone who is barely 5 feet tall, that's saying something). They were however very clean and nicely furnished and decorated. There is safe in the room and the hairdryer is in the safe. There is no shower curtain, so just be careful not to flood the room when you shower.

The hotel is conveniently located close to many tourist spots, and there are tonnes of shops and restaurants near the hotel. The tram runs down Damrak (so it can be quite noisy even late into the evening), but we found everything to be within walking distance anyway.

We loved our visit to Amsterdam and will most certainly return, I hope we get another great deal at Hotel The Exchange when we come back because I would definitely want to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttercup1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the upgrade we gave you. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

You can't knock this hotel at all, there are five different stars of room from one star to five star.

We stayed in a two star room and I am not sure what more you need if your like us and basically just showered and slept in the room.

There is also wifi everywhere in the hotel and the cafe attached next door.

The rooms are done up very quirky by art students. Yes it is small and basic but has everything you need. A nice big comfy double bed, safe, clothes rail and a wet room. Everything looks very new and well maintained. The cleaners come in your room every day to change towels and make bed etc. The whole hotel is spotless.

The location of the hotel is spot on your five minutes from the train station, red light district, western canals and 10 / 15 minutes from most other things. You can get trams to most places if you wanted. We walked everywhere and found it great as you can find lovely little pubs/cafés and restaurants down the alleys.

The only negative about the hotel room is the light in the bedroom could be brighter as room is dark and there are only two plug sockets.

I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lovelife123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Ross, thank you for sharing your experiences. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay and room in our hotel very much. You are always welcome to come back to Amsterdam and stay with us again. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was the absolute worst hotel experience I have ever had. DO NOT spend your money here. I had high expectations for such a quirky, well located boutique hotel with a catchy slogan like "rooms dressed like models".

Here is a short recap of my first night:
IF YOU PLAN ON GETTING SLEEP- DO NOT STAY HERE. The windows facing the street are not double glazed and you can hear EVERYTHING- from the clicking high heels of a woman walking by to the tram that will wake you up at 5am, to the church bells that chime on and on and on regardless of what time it is. If the noise outside does not keep you from sleeping, the noise from the neighbours will because the walls, floors and ceilings are so cheaply constructed and made, you can hear every footstep. If you do manage to get some sleep, you will get woken up by a stray fire alarm that goes off by accident in your room as it did in mine.

Other complaints/disappointments:
-no shower curtain in the bathroom
-no fridge, water, cups, hot water boiler etc. "BASIC" tools in every standard hotel room.

Extremely extremely disappointed by my experience. The hotel put a huge damper on my entire trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Petram1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear Petra, we are disappointed to read that your stay in one of our 2 star rooms wasn't to your satisfaction. Hotel the Exchange has 61 unique rooms ranging from one to five stars. The number of stars refers to the size of the room and the amenities. We would very much like to welcome you back in the future, as we are confident we can find a nice and quiet room where you will sleep very well. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

It was really trendy with a special love of fashion. It was full of inspiration and the rooms were furnished by students at the Amsterdam Fashion Institute. Even though design comes before comfort which was what I expected, I do recommend Hotel the Exchange to fashion lovers!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sevdademirsevda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear Sevda, thank you for your review and your recommendation. It's nice to read you are enthusiastic about our special love for fashion and our rooms dressed like models. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Be aware when booking that the rooms are 'made up like models'. You should expect the rooms to be quirky, comfortable and fabulous.

While themed/dressed up rooms might not be to everybody's taste, the room we stayed in I found modern, tasteful, bright and comfortable. We booked less than two weeks before arrival and paid approximately £120 for the two nights we stayed, a steal by anyone's standards.

The hotel is located less than ten minutes walk from the Central Station, literally thirty seconds from the nearest Tram Stop, it is central, well priced, individual and I will be booking again very soon indeed. I can honestly say that this hotel was a key factor in us enjoying our trip as much as we did.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms seem to be less individual, part of the price you pay for is the experience with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warrenmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Mike, thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy we were a key factor during your stay in Amsterdam. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel is the worst I ever saw. For 150 euro a night there was a 1 star standard in a 4 star room. I can't even discribe in words how creepy and ugly the room was. I stayed there one night by myself and 2 times somebody tried to enter my room. Would not recommend it ever to nobody.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Martha, we are disappointed to hear that you didn't like the 4 star room that you were allocated. We are always happy to relocate guests if they prefer another room. There are 61 rooms and they are all completely unique. We would very much like to welcome you back in the future, as we are confident we can find a room that you will enjoy. We are confident that the hotel is entirely secure. We would appreciate more information with regards to your review. Please feel free to contact us directly. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#63 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,066 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,241 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $114 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing