We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #104 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Moraira, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed one night after a late flight. Location was perfect, just 5 minutes from the train station. Our room was small but the bed comfortable and everything very clean. Didn't particularly like the design of the room but we were only there to sleep and have a shower and both were more than adequate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Catherine, we are happy to read you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    410
    146
    56
    49
See reviews for
51
550
78
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed in the cheapest room available for 2 nights and we're very happy.
The only thing was that the website said all rooms had different designs, our room was very plain.
The bed was amazingly comfortable and the room was small but very very cozy and inviting.. Lots of natural light.
If we ever go back to Amsterdam, there is no question I will choose to stay here again. Also the location was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziKillick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Suzannah, thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We booked one of the '2-star' rooms for an impromptu weekend to Amsterdam. The rooms were absolutely tiny and not that cheap (£100 per night) but the location was unbeatable. I stayed at Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam two years ago and while it is around 2.5 times the price, it's about 5 times better. I'd stay here again though if looking for a cheap hotel in the heart of things.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weberkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. Hotel The Exchange has 61 unique rooms ranging from one to five stars. The number of stars refers to the size of the room, the amenities, its views and location in the hotel. We understand your dissapointment about the room size. We would very much like to welcome you back in the future, as we are confident we can find a more spacious room. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed here last year and again this year . Fantastic service and an upgrade.
If you don't want the same boring hotel then try the Hotel Exchnage . Its the ideal location and the best Frites shop in the World is next door.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Tanya, many thanks for your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back in Amsterdam and to surprise you again with a different room. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnerside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Booked online for a twin bedded room, arrived and we were offered a double bed. As two single straight males we insisted on a twin room, we were offered a room eventually and went to room only to find member of staff lying on bed watching TV.
Not a good experience here, hotel on main road and very noisy,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear David, we understand your disappointment at the bed selection you were offered. The allocation of a double bed was as a result of a last-minute upgrade we gave you on arrival. Once we were alerted to the fact that the bed allocation was not what you requested it was sorted out within a few minutes and you received a further upgrade to a 3 star room with twin beds. Routine maintainance was being done on the TV sets in the vacant rooms at the time of your check-in and while your room was an unexpected room change, the staff did not anticipate your arrival. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We have also contacted you directly about your review. We hope to hear back from you. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel, so cool and quirky, staff were friendly and helpful, room cleaned everyday and centrally located and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!!! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Lauren, thanks so much for your positive review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hotel The Exchange is a fantastic (if somewhat hard to find) hotel right on Damrak. It is incredibly close to the train station (and by extension, the very helpful tram lines) and is also close to the red light district and Dam square.

The rooms, designed by local art and design students, are interesting and pleasant, and you can choose from a 1 to a 5 star experience. My wife and I got a 1 star room for the night and were very pleased with the comfortable bed, the cute (if small) room, and the clean bathroom.

All in all, great value and great location. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose your level of elegance (1 to 5 stars), but 1 star rooms offer all that you need for an impecc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Daniel, thank you very much for your review. It is really nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also happy to know that the beds, room and cleanliness of the hotel were much appreciated by you. We hope you will visit us again when you are in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#59 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#141 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#129 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Property: Hotel The Exchange
Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing