We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel The Exchange
Nearby Hotels
$329
$293
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$506
$491
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$275
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$444
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$260
$244
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$88
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$240
$209
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$489
$374
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$276
$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Van Gogh(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$143
$85
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,316)
Filter reviews
1,316 results
Traveler rating
483
508
188
75
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
508
188
75
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar roomdam squaregreat locationthe cafe downstairsdamrak streetcentral stationthe red light districtquirky hotelthree starvending machinesmall roomamsterdam centraalshower roomcomfy bedloved this hotelfew minutes walkbooked this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
591 - 596 of 1,316 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Booked a superior room for 2 nights. Room is quite quirky but very small for the price we paid. Room was clean but floor could be better maintained and room painted. Our TV kept breaking up but it was sorted out by the attentive staff. Not much of a view from the window but we didn't mind. Excellent location and extremely quirky!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CassieBrzoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The hotel has everything you need. Only 5 minutes' walk from Central Station. National Monument in Dam Square is 5 minutes' walk in the opposite direction. Stylish interior. Very helpful staff. Very large double bed, soft and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzzSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Location is in the middle of the busy city centre on 3 minutes walking distance from central station, 1 minute from tram station and 5 minutes from Dam square and shopping streets. Usually you find very overpriced, supertiny, dusty, touristy hotels here. I was suprised to find a more creative looking space here. Our mid price room room was very light and minimalistic (I was a bit disappointed after seeing other photo examples of different rooms) but also creatively decorated. Very tiny corridors on your way to the room (but with tiny elevator as well). Room is basic (could use a water cooker), but the bed and shower were clean and comfortable! Our room was at the side of the street but I had no noise on a Friday evening. Very nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

As written in the title, this hotel is all you need to spend a really good holiday in Amsterdam.
This hotel is clean, you can sleep very well, the rooms are large enough to contains all your stuff to spend some days in this marvelous city and the staff is young and gentle. Remarkable also the availability to keep your baggage until check-in (we arrived at 9 am, check-in is at 3 pm) and after check-out (check-out is at 12 am, we picked up our baggage at 4 pm).
And the position is the cherry on the cake! 5 min from rail station and simply in the middle of the city center!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamwellTarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I booked the Hotel Exhange as a surprise for my friends 30th birthday in January. I was attracted to it by the reviews of its quirky decoration and because we were two females travelling alone, its central location. The hotel delivered in both respects. It is a mere five minutes walk from the Amsterdam Central station on the Damrak from which we were able to access all the parts of Amsterdam we wanted to explore.The red light district and the main square are both only about 3 minutes away.

I initially booked a 1* room but decided last minute to treat ourselves to an upgrade. We were offered upgrades to 4 and 5 star rooms so I opted for the 4star for a reasonable extra fee.

The room we got was very large, with quirky curtained walls and a small (almost) balcony overlooking Damrak. We had no trouble at all with traffic noise. The bathroom wasn't huge but was much bigger than other hotels ive stayed in and was well laid out and more than sufficient for our stay. Although there were no hairdryers in the hotel this was resolved with a phone call to reception and one was delivered within minutes. When that one wasn't blowing hot air another was delivered extremely promptly followed shortly after by an iron! We also couldn't find the towels when we arrived (they were there but on an obscure rack in the bathroom) and these were also delivered very promptly - I can honestly say we were quite demanding customers and received rapid helpful service at every opportunity!

The only thing I could perceive that could be a problem with this hotel is that it is in a traditional dutch building with very steep stairs. This may not be suitable for those with mobility issues, although there is a lift. I would mention any mobility issues upon booking as some rooms still require you to negotiate small staircases to get to once you reach the correct floor.

If I go back to Amsterdam I will without a doubt stay here and would confidently book a lower starred room than the excellent 4* room we had!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazza1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews