We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #102 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Really helpful, very interesting decoration of the rooms, very enjoyable stay.The staff were very polite and helpful.Was a very pleasant first stay in amsterdam. Will definitely book again in the future!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CLB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    430
    160
    60
    49
See reviews for
55
590
81
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Booked a superior room for 2 nights. Room is quite quirky but very small for the price we paid. Room was clean but floor could be better maintained and room painted. Our TV kept breaking up but it was sorted out by the attentive staff. Not much of a view from the window but we didn't mind. Excellent location and extremely quirky!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CassieBrzoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

The hotel has everything you need. Only 5 minutes' walk from Central Station. National Monument in Dam Square is 5 minutes' walk in the opposite direction. Stylish interior. Very helpful staff. Very large double bed, soft and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zzzSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weert, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Location is in the middle of the busy city centre on 3 minutes walking distance from central station, 1 minute from tram station and 5 minutes from Dam square and shopping streets. Usually you find very overpriced, supertiny, dusty, touristy hotels here. I was suprised to find a more creative looking space here. Our mid price room room was very light and minimalistic (I was a bit disappointed after seeing other photo examples of different rooms) but also creatively decorated. Very tiny corridors on your way to the room (but with tiny elevator as well). Room is basic (could use a water cooker), but the bed and shower were clean and comfortable! Our room was at the side of the street but I had no noise on a Friday evening. Very nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prevessin Moens, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

As written in the title, this hotel is all you need to spend a really good holiday in Amsterdam.
This hotel is clean, you can sleep very well, the rooms are large enough to contains all your stuff to spend some days in this marvelous city and the staff is young and gentle. Remarkable also the availability to keep your baggage until check-in (we arrived at 9 am, check-in is at 3 pm) and after check-out (check-out is at 12 am, we picked up our baggage at 4 pm).
And the position is the cherry on the cake! 5 min from rail station and simply in the middle of the city center!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamwellTarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I booked the Hotel Exhange as a surprise for my friends 30th birthday in January. I was attracted to it by the reviews of its quirky decoration and because we were two females travelling alone, its central location. The hotel delivered in both respects. It is a mere five minutes walk from the Amsterdam Central station on the Damrak from which we were able to access all the parts of Amsterdam we wanted to explore.The red light district and the main square are both only about 3 minutes away.

I initially booked a 1* room but decided last minute to treat ourselves to an upgrade. We were offered upgrades to 4 and 5 star rooms so I opted for the 4star for a reasonable extra fee.

The room we got was very large, with quirky curtained walls and a small (almost) balcony overlooking Damrak. We had no trouble at all with traffic noise. The bathroom wasn't huge but was much bigger than other hotels ive stayed in and was well laid out and more than sufficient for our stay. Although there were no hairdryers in the hotel this was resolved with a phone call to reception and one was delivered within minutes. When that one wasn't blowing hot air another was delivered extremely promptly followed shortly after by an iron! We also couldn't find the towels when we arrived (they were there but on an obscure rack in the bathroom) and these were also delivered very promptly - I can honestly say we were quite demanding customers and received rapid helpful service at every opportunity!

The only thing I could perceive that could be a problem with this hotel is that it is in a traditional dutch building with very steep stairs. This may not be suitable for those with mobility issues, although there is a lift. I would mention any mobility issues upon booking as some rooms still require you to negotiate small staircases to get to once you reach the correct floor.

If I go back to Amsterdam I will without a doubt stay here and would confidently book a lower starred room than the excellent 4* room we had!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

This has to be one of the best locations to stay in Amsterdam - Right next to the Dam Square on Damrak and short walk away from De Wallen.

This is a no frills hotel and they don't even take cash (they don't have a till there) but I would definitely recommend purely because of the location

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AchalGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#67 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#139 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#52 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Property: Hotel The Exchange
Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing