We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Hotel - right in the centre of Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #117 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed November 20, 2013

A small hotel, dedicated to 'green environment', and fair trading, in a recycled 200 year old warehouse, modern appointments. Small rooms (who stays in rom but to sleep), right in the heart of Amsterdam, 2 minutes from Central station, trams pass the door, small coffee shop on ground floor for breakfast or snacks but restaurants everywhere you look, lots of shopping opportunities surround the hotel, hop on/off buses just outside Central Station.
Great hotel, great location

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mycool123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

I choose this hotel for its location and for its price. I was positively surprised by the room. It was very nice and "trendy" despite being the cheapest option. the staf was helpful and friendly. the only negative point is the entrance to the hotel from the main street. It is difficult to spot (very small sign) and the corridor that leads to the recpetion is not very pleasant. But when you get to the above floors and to your room then you are pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us at the tourist desk at the railway station as a 4 star hotel. We had a white room which was very small and dirty. The photos on this site are quite nice so maybe we were unlucky with our room. However it was expensive and not very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is an excellently located hotel, very close to the station and within walking distance of most of the city. Having individually designed rooms is a clever way to disguise the fact that this hotel is actually fairly basic, almost no frills. But it doesn't matter, the hotel is cool, clean, the staff are friendly and our room was cosy and quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We halved stayed at several places on Damrak and been disappointed by the rooms at most places. That is NOT the case with the exchange!! The rooms are lovely and very clean!! Our room was also quiet and very private. The staff is very friendly and helpful. A great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LexiLu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I loved staying at the Exchange and would gladly stay here again. We had the Rembrandt Room, which is done up all in white. The bed itself is surrounded by a cocoon of curtains, which is both visually striking and cozy. It was a charming, clean and spacious room that was perfect for us. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel is also in a great location - only blocks from Centraal Station - and surrounded by shops and cafes so there's plenty to do right around the hotel area. The cafe downstairs was very convenient - great for a quick breakfast before heading out to see the city. They have excellent croissants!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mloleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for only one night, our first visit to Amsterdam, Netherlands. We were looking for a clean room, friendly helpful staff, close to Central Train Station, and that is what we got. We opted for the mid price room, one step above the smallest room, and we are glad we did. Being from Canada, we were warned that hotel rooms in Europe are very small compared to Canada. Still this was probably the smallest hotel room we ever stayed in! We had enough room to get around the bed, with nothing to spare. And no view. But it filled our needs, very clean, friendly staff, excellent location in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Lower price rooms are very, very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#179 of 375 in Amsterdam
965 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#61 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,085 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#169 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $81 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing