We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I loved my stay at The Exchange” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #105 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Portici, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I loved my stay at The Exchange”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I loved my stay at The Exchange... I stayed in an one star room for 9 nights. It was very comfortable and clean. Hotel staff was very friendly and kind. They also printed my flight boarding pass. The hotel is very close to the railway station and to the main city attractions. I was very satisfied. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    410
    147
    57
    49
See reviews for
51
551
78
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night. For almost $300 I really was hoping for a lot more. The entrance looks like it has rooms by the hour. They were supposed to have a room with 2 beds but none were available. The room had construction like fabric on the walls. I guess this was part of their boutique hotel feel. It made the room dark and somber. The shower was not separated from the toilet. In fact you could sit on the commode, shower and use the sink at the same time. But the worst part was the day manager who refused to try and improve our stay after not having the correct room available.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJWtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during a professional congress. This "concept" hotel suppose to have rooms graded as 2-5 stars, however, its entrance, the lobby, the elevator, and the 3 stars room which I was unfortunate to occupy through the convention center housing office does not deserve any star at all (noisy, hot, far from being clean). Different people of the staff provided contradicting information about the hotel policies. The hotel's coffee shop did not have soap in it's bathroom, and were surprised when I commented on that. Better to stay away from this hotel. Dr. M.Moriel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Perfect location for red light district, coffee shops and bars.

Very polite and helpful reception.

Clean

Comfy beds

This is an "art hotel" so decor not to everybody's taste so be aware of this.

Great value "bed the the night", just next the the action.

Tip, if smoking but inexperienced first visit kadinski coffee shop. Some great advise and a nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Light light district, out the front door, cross the road watching for bikes, trams, cars over the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We arrived from the airport late at night and from the central train station, it was a 6 minutes walk! The guy at the reception was very cool! He gave us a map of the city, telling us where can we grab something to eat even at 1am. The room was... original!! For the cheap price we paid even during high season, we were very happy and would stay there again for sure. The room was sparkling clean, included a safe. The only thing, no air conditioning but the nights are a bit chilly in Amsterdam so you just have to open the window to get a fresh breeze. I recommend this funky and design hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 416globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here in room 517 which is the top room in the eaves in the photo. Great location for everything however it was a noisy at night. In fairness this was because we had the windows open due to the heat and also it was bank holiday weekend so was busy with rowdy groups who were NOT hotel guests but were noisy down in the street as they walked past No fault of the hotels and didn't really bother us as we could lie in.

The room was by modern and very clean. We stayed in the 4 star room.

There are no drawers so we hung out clothes on the hatstand which is covered in hangars for this purpose and rest stayed in case. I would recommend this hotel if you have tons of luggage.

We loved this hotel but would ask for a quiet non Damrak facing room next time if it was summer and needed windows open.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not facing Damrak if going when warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our 3rd time in Amsterdam and this is the hotel we will return to. Amazing location, very clean, comfortable bed & bedding and friendly & helpful staff. We stayed in a 2 star room which was fine! Daily maid service still and fresh towels daily. Only negative is no storage in our room at all apart from 5 coat hangers on a wall. Also no hot drink making facilities, they did put a kettle in our room on my request but no mugs etc. overall tho, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ericbloodaxe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#59 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,123 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#130 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Property: Hotel The Exchange
Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing