We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved my stay at The Exchange”
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #117 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I loved my stay at The Exchange... I stayed in an one star room for 9 nights. It was very comfortable and clean. Hotel staff was very friendly and kind. They also printed my flight boarding pass. The hotel is very close to the railway station and to the main city attractions. I was very satisfied. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night. For almost $300 I really was hoping for a lot more. The entrance looks like it has rooms by the hour. They were supposed to have a room with 2 beds but none were available. The room had construction like fabric on the walls. I guess this was part of their boutique hotel feel. It made the room dark and somber. The shower was not separated from the toilet. In fact you could sit on the commode, shower and use the sink at the same time. But the worst part was the day manager who refused to try and improve our stay after not having the correct room available.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJWtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during a professional congress. This "concept" hotel suppose to have rooms graded as 2-5 stars, however, its entrance, the lobby, the elevator, and the 3 stars room which I was unfortunate to occupy through the convention center housing office does not deserve any star at all (noisy, hot, far from being clean). Different people of the staff provided contradicting information about the hotel policies. The hotel's coffee shop did not have soap in it's bathroom, and were surprised when I commented on that. Better to stay away from this hotel. Dr. M.Moriel

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Perfect location for red light district, coffee shops and bars.

Very polite and helpful reception.

Clean

Comfy beds

This is an "art hotel" so decor not to everybody's taste so be aware of this.

Great value "bed the the night", just next the the action.

Tip, if smoking but inexperienced first visit kadinski coffee shop. Some great advise and a nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Light light district, out the front door, cross the road watching for bikes, trams, cars over the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We arrived from the airport late at night and from the central train station, it was a 6 minutes walk! The guy at the reception was very cool! He gave us a map of the city, telling us where can we grab something to eat even at 1am. The room was... original!! For the cheap price we paid even during high season, we were very happy and would stay there again for sure. The room was sparkling clean, included a safe. The only thing, no air conditioning but the nights are a bit chilly in Amsterdam so you just have to open the window to get a fresh breeze. I recommend this funky and design hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 416globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here in room 517 which is the top room in the eaves in the photo. Great location for everything however it was a noisy at night. In fairness this was because we had the windows open due to the heat and also it was bank holiday weekend so was busy with rowdy groups who were NOT hotel guests but were noisy down in the street as they walked past No fault of the hotels and didn't really bother us as we could lie in.

The room was by modern and very clean. We stayed in the 4 star room.

There are no drawers so we hung out clothes on the hatstand which is covered in hangars for this purpose and rest stayed in case. I would recommend this hotel if you have tons of luggage.

We loved this hotel but would ask for a quiet non Damrak facing room next time if it was summer and needed windows open.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not facing Damrak if going when warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our 3rd time in Amsterdam and this is the hotel we will return to. Amazing location, very clean, comfortable bed & bedding and friendly & helpful staff. We stayed in a 2 star room which was fine! Daily maid service still and fresh towels daily. Only negative is no storage in our room at all apart from 5 coat hangers on a wall. Also no hot drink making facilities, they did put a kettle in our room on my request but no mugs etc. overall tho, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ericbloodaxe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#63 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,066 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,246 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $114 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing