We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Location”
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #117 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Booked through a secret hotel site.

Really very happy with Hotel the Exchange. It is in a fabulous location, just a short walk from Centraal Station and very close to the departure points for Canal Cruises, and a short walk from Dam Square in the other direction.

We had one of the Hotels own rated 2* rooms. It was perfectly adequate as a base to explore Amsterdam. The room was small, but had everything you could need (except a kettle). The beds were very comfy and there was an en suite wet room. The room was very nicely decorated in a contemporary style, walking past other rooms which were open for cleaning chowed the scope of the style of room, all were indivdually styled and looked great.

Access was not a problem as the hotel has lifts, otherwise for less abled people the stairs would prove a "step" too far.

The reception is a small kiosk as you enter the hotel, this was not a problem and added to the quirky nature of the hotel. The staff were very pleasant and polite and i felt that nothing would be too much trouble.

If you are looking for a basic, good value room then you could do far worse than a 2* room Hotel the Exchange. I have no doubt that their higher rated rooms would suit a bigger budget and people who want a bit more luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a great stay at the Hotel Exchange, was a bit disappointed upon arrival to see our room had no balcony/terrace with seating as advertised, one of the full length windows opened fully to a French balcony (ie a railing outside the window). I would have said the room was more 4* than the 5 star "suite" I paid for.

That said, the room was still great, spotless, the bed was very comfortable and the shower room was very clean. The hotel itself is very different with attention to detail and quirky design. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful, going out of their way to help with any requests.

The hotel was a great base, centrally located to allow guests to explore Amsterdam, whatever they are there to see!

Will definitely be back here, already making plans for my next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisam660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I would say that with one or two exceptions the hotels on Damrak are seedy and very unwelcoming. The exchange is most definitely one of these exceptions. Each room appears to have its own theme with the décor being very modern and abstract with very unusual but nonetheless beautiful touches. I had a very quiet room on the first floor and the café downstairs is an excellent choice for breakfast or a snack whilst watching the hustle and bustle of Damrak

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Covtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very pleasant room with style and comfort. The personnal was kind and available. Only limitation, there were roof works on the building next door and the window isolation wasn't up to par to avoid being woken up at 8am. But overall a great address very well situated.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carolinel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is situated right in the heart of Amsterdam. The hotel itself is quite large, but despite this it has a very intimate feel. Each floor has a slightly different design, and each space is unique.
The best thing about the hotel is the staff. They were exceptionally helpful. Before I arrived I had to request an invoice. I had a few issues, but they were all resolved very quickly, via clear and prompt email communication. I also requested a room with a double bed, towards the back of the hotel, as I wanted some quiet. The main street can be quite busy.
I arrived at the hotel about 4 hours before my scheduled check-in time. However, I was allowed to check-in early at no extra cost. My room was exactly as requested.
It was very hot at the time of my stay, one of the hottest days of the year. It was quite uncomfortable for me, and my wife asked if we could possible have a room with more ventilation. They very kindly moved us to a large room at the top of the hotel. The room had huge windows that opened wide, allowing for a very cool and spacious experience. Again, this was all at no extra cost. They also printed our boarding passes, and allowed for the storage of our luggage on check-out day.
I’ve read a few reviews that said the staff were not always so polite. This could not be further from the case. The staff are always really friendly and helpful, even when just passing through reception.
The café and the gift shop downstairs are really great, also. The gifts are really original.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It took us a while to find the hotel but we were glad we choose The Exchange for our two night in this interesting city. The staff was very nice to us, the room was comfortable and clean. waking distance to all the places we wanted to visit ans it was always nice to go back and sleep well. I'll definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family heading to Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the main road, seems they are the nicer ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertoloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 375 in Amsterdam
966 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#61 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,085 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#169 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $79 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing