We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual, ideally placed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #114 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unusual, ideally placed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were intially very worried when we landed on the manically busy Damrak to check in to this hotel. We needn't have worried at all. Although the Damrak is crazy, busy and noisy the Exchange is an oasis of unusual calm in the middle of it!

If you are claustrophobic or find small spaces frustrating this is NOT the place for you. Like many buildings in Amsterdam space is an absolute luxury! The reception is literally a ticket booth at the end of a narrow hallway but please don't let any of this put you off. If you like something a little different then this is the place for you.

Each room has a different design. I think it is designed by art students and they take an individual room as a project. Our room was in a very minimalist style, mostly white with lots of clear light bulbs. It was fantastic! We really loved it. It was incredibly basic, no tea/coffee and a basic wetroom but it was still very enjoyable. I cannot remember exactly how much we paid but I know that it was not cheap. I would still say that it was worth it due to its great location and quirky atmosphere. A definite recommend if you like that sort of thing.

Room Tip: Even if you get a room over the Damrak they are still nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missmurfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    447
    164
    61
    49
See reviews for
60
603
84
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is superbly situated only minutes from central station and dam square. The room we booked was "superior" and for a ridiculous amount of money we had a very small room containing only a large bed (admittedly one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in) two slatted stools as bedside tables and an easel type contraption to hang our clothes on. That was it. No drawers, wardrobe, mirror (only in tiny wet room and useless after shower), shelves, nothing. Thankfully we were only staying three nights so were travelling light but it was very irritating to be without the basics let alone what I have become used to such as tea, coffees, hairdryer etc. Spotlessly clean but not worth the money. Our friends' room had even less furniture than ours and was smaller as they had booked a standard room!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenbeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naul, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

You get more than what you pay for. This is a great hotel, rooms a bit small but the location makes up for that. Staff could not be better, they see to your every need and are so friendly and helpful. Hallways are really funky as are the themed rooms. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: When you arrive the staff will show you pictures of your room and if yoou want to upgrade or change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here one night as a layover. The staff were friendly and were able to address all our questions right away. The room and bathroom were clean and even included a safe box. The shower was hot and the bed (1 star room) was comfortable and warm.

The hotel is within walking distance of delicious food and the red light district.

Would be willing to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c0c0_pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Stone throw distance from Centraal station and Dam square. Comfy beds, artistic decor and a brilliant cafe and right in the middle of all the action. If you are looking for a cosy place not far from Dam square at affordable rates this is it. What else !! Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I sent my wife and my daugther for a long weekend to amsterdam to see some friends. They arrived late at the hotel. The room they stay it is 5 stars was on the top. Nobody helped with the luggage.... I pre paid all expenses incl. breakfast but they told my family they not could have breakfast in the hotel... what !!! A very bad service at the reception and poor. And the price I paid was realy not cheap. The room is small and the amenties poor too. They where very disapointed. Only the location is perfect. Everything in walking distance. Not will come back again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank healeysix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Pros: Central location, walking distance to everything, clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff.
Cons: Small room, toilet and shower in separate closet-like compartments, very dim lighting (ie. reading in bed is difficult).

Room Tip: Room #222 was quiet at night. However, it was somewhat noisy during the day, due to the cleaning sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#62 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#49 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Property: Hotel The Exchange
Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing