We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cool experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #111 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Cool experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Booked a five star room for our wedding and loved every second of it. Location was perfect for our wedding plans and the room was a work of art. Comfortable and we had a great view looking out over the roof tops of Amsterdam. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWSWPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    421
    155
    60
    49
See reviews for
53
572
79
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room we had was very small. The Hotel concept is great and we definetly felt our room had personality. The location could not have been any better. We were pleasantly surprised when we came in off the street, the entrance is small. The staff were extremly helpful.

Room Tip: .I would recommend you upgrade to one of thier larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chgo
Level Contributor
70 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We found this place when we were in a crunch. It was utter luck to have stumbled on this. Great place! Awesome location! Very near to train station. Small rooms, great concept on design. Economical and comfortable! Would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mexitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was in amsterdam for a week-end. I was looking for a small cheap hotel near the station. I found on the net the Exchange and i was absolutely surised by the concept: rooms designed by students iof a design accademy, in the center of the town for arounf 115 euro double room per nigth!!!
Yes and..to be honest the hotel mantain their promise. The rooms maybe are a little bit small (at least the room that we choose...) but it is clean, in the center of the town, the quality of sleep is good, personnel is ok. Negative aspects: only credit cards (We paied in advance) and for that price no breakfast........be careful also the cafe that is exactly at the left of the hotel (same concept..design made by the design school) accept only credit cards....to sum up..a good choice!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FabrizC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Useful Tips First:

Visa is regarded as a credit card in Holland even though it can be a debit card, if you are buying train tickets and wondering why your card is being declined despite it being a debit card its because only Maestro is considered a debit card. Regardless of you using a debit card you have to select Visa as a credit card.

Second only Amsterdam Centraal and the Amsterdam Airport train station except visa payments AT ALL (ticket machine or service desk) for tickets. All other train stations in Holland do not except Visa - so make sure you buy all your tickets at these stations or get cash :)

Third, it is $3.80 per person to get the train from the Airport to Amsterdam Centraal, a taxi to banks mansion cost us $50.

The Hotel

First impressions were this hotel is incredibly well hidden, it has a tiny side door with a very small sign on possibly one of the busiest streets in Amsterdam. Easy to walk past I can tell you!

This hotel is a safe choice and we had a fine stay here however it was for only 1 night at the end of our week long Holland tour so I would question the logic behind staying here for longer than 1 night particularly as the rooms are very very small, there is no wardrobe or hairdryer and the shower room is only big enough for 1 and it is a wet room as there is not really enough space to have a full bathroom.

That being said it was clean, well maintained, each room is uniquely decorated which is nice and the hotel is very polite, helpful and courteous.

The location is about 200 meters from the Amsterdam Centraal Station and is in the heart of the city and in the oldest section of the town also.

It was a nice stay but quite frankly for the money per night I would much rather spend the few extra euros and go to the Banks Mansion for a more comfortable stay over a longer period, better hotel, more value, more comfort, more luxury and for not a great deal more.

Nothing wrong with this hotel as like us you probably wont be in your room for 90% of the day and if you want a place to literally rest your head this is fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheQuietObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I got a very nice room (3*), although have spend a very small amount of time there :)
My room number was 303, big and comfortable bed. No wardrobes but never use any on my business trip. There are 200 characters minimum for this review and I really do not have anything else to say. Very good location.

Room Tip: I got a room in new building and was perfect, however, colleague of mine have got room in old buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Excellent smart hotel in the middle of the city right near e tourist places. Different rooms make sure you get a room on the higher floors as the noise from the street below can be quite disturbing.

You can request them to see the diff categories of room as they are supposed to be different
Very friendly staff and quite helpful

Room Tip: Use upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samir-Bhuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#66 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#50 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Property: Hotel The Exchange
Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing