We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$244
$192
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Sebastian's(Amsterdam)
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$214
$171
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $296/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$357
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH City Centre Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$177
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $361/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,341)
Filter reviews
1,341 results
Traveler rating
491
517
190
78
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
517
190
78
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar roomdam squaregreat locationthe cafe downstairsdamrak streetcentral stationwet roomthe red light districtunique hotelthree starvending machinecomfy bedamsterdam centraalrooms are smallhairdryerluggagestorage
Filter
Updating list...
790 - 795 of 1,341 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hotel The Exchange is closer to a hostel than a hotel.

It is very well-situated -- just a 5-minute walk from the train station -- and reasonably priced.

But the rooms are weird, uncomfortable, and not suited for someone with a suitcase. I paid 50 Euros for early check-in but the 4 rooms they showed me were all drenched in broad daylight. What hotel doesn't have curtains or blinds?

The hotel bills wants to see itself as a designer boutique but the decor is cheap, flimsy and feels very thrown together. There are no amenities whatsoever.

Room Tip: You must ask for a room at the back if you want to sleep at all. It won't be quiet, just not as noisy as the front rooms. Early check-in is 50 Euros and not worth the price because you won't get any sleep. It's too loud and the rooms don't have curtains or blinds to block out sun.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Over many years I have suffered with the hotels in Amsterdam - lack of cleanliness, bad decor, difficult access, soft/saggy mattresses , noise etc.....and then I found Hotel The Exchange.
For me personally important is -

1. First greeting on arrival - this was taken care of by Steven, who was welcoming, charming, friendly and dealt with my check-inn very professionally.

2. Cleanliness - the room was spotless & sparkling - something difficult to find in most hotels around the world! BIG gold star

3. The bed - The king bed was AmAzInG! - Considering most beds in Holland (for some reason??) are on the softer side of Soggy...A big complaint in the NH Hotel group - the bed at Hotel The Exchange was perfect along with the big comfy pillows and plain white good thread bedlinen - Thank you Thank you.

4. The Bathroom - Once again sparklingly clean - I believe most hotels with lack of space (in other words most city hotels) should opt for the "wet-room" concept - great shower without the mangy shower-curtain contraption - and the tiles on the walls - OH my - functional and beautiful :)

My room was a 2* room, and that was mainly because it didn't face the Damrak (the main street where it is situated) - for me this was a blessing (Thank you Steven for booking me in here) as it was quiet, but for the sound of Amsterdam bells chiming (who doesn't like the sound of a well-tuned bell?!!). This room 602 also had 2 windows which created a thru-breeze on the warm days I spent there. The room and others I viewed are not large nor luxurious. Instead they are works of Art - installations of 21st Century modern, funky, creative spaces where you return after a day of adventuring Amsterdam - they have everything - Wi-Fi, Flat screen TV & Satellite chanels, phone in room, Fantastic safe/draws).

On arrival, I was a little disappointed at the lack of closet space - however, after assessing the hotel "philosophy" that I witnessed in several of the rooms I encountered, as well as the common parts and adjoining cafe & shop; I understood that this was actually secondary to the comfort of my stay. I did witness an irrate Canadian woman - freaking out that she had nowhere to store her clothes - PLEASE don't stay here (or most funky city hotels in the world) if you want drawers & wardrobes or full length mirrors - I got over it very quickly when I observed all the other awesome benefits of this hotel.

On day 3 I wanted my boyfriend to join me and experience Hotel The Exchange - Sadly my room was already booked by someone else; Happily it offered me the opportunity to view some of the other rooms that were available. Rosanna - front of house manager on duty, was delightful in assisting me with possibilities - Lou (please forgive spelling of names) was equally professional, friendly and giving of her time in showing me the various room possibilites - WoW! - so much to choose from, and certainly one that would suit everyone's taste and budget . We chose a super-fabby-Marie Antoinette goes Dutch in a contemporary setting room 403 which was apparently a 3* room - Really the only difference in 2-4 stars seemed to be the location (Damrak or not) - note even the price changed too dramatically - I didn't get to see the 5* rooms,but don't get hooked into star rating at this establishment - ALL the rooms are fairly 5 star for a city hotel simply due to how the spaces have been lovingly and creatively executed.
.
Do go to the website, or do some searches on interiors of each 61 rooms as well as the great little adjoining cafe (with tasty healthy options) & lovely "design"store where you can pick up interesting, fun & charming design bits, all well sourced. All I am left with is a huge enormous Thank You to the people who conceptualised this for Amsterdam, and work lovingly at maintaining the service and site - I will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaLeibowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The location of the hotel is perfect, right next to the central station, the river cruises and the main road in the city center. The rooms were really small (we booked a 2 star room) but clean and in good condition as well as the very comfortable beds and pillows.

Room Tip: 2 star rooms are quite small and have no special design as shown, room 224 and 324 next to the stairs were quite the same.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manguano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nicely situated not far from train station not far from the Dam square, not too noisy in the evening but not exceptional as shown on pictures, some sleeping rooms are plain nothing special in decoration (especially room 505) - may be because not directly booked with the hotel but booked online through a promotional channel....then you do not get the best rooms ever ?...
Chip card payment or credit cards...No cash - this might be a problem you need to know it....same for the breakfast next door all payable by chip card

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valouveuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews