We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel The Exchange
Nearby Hotels
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$764
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$238
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$329
$293
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,135
$492
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$415
$400
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$407
$397
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$289
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$212
$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$469
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,301)
Filter reviews
1,301 results
Traveler rating
477
504
187
72
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
477
504
187
72
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar roomdam squaregreat locationthe cafe downstairsdamrak streetcentral stationthe red light districtquirky hotelthree starvending machinesmall roomamsterdam centraalshower roomcomfy bedloved this hotelfew minutes walkbooked this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
857 - 862 of 1,301 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I booked this hotel because it was at 50 % (very expensive anyway), and apparently it was a very new and trendy hotel. Don't let the pictures fool you, the hotel is very very small, the entrance is about 50 cm wide and the rooms very small. Still in construction so you will be awakened by the hammers... Just too expensive for what they offer. Just very well located, near to the central station and close to the dam square

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We arrived to the hotel as a building site. As the hotel was only open a week they were still "finishing" it. On arrival our room was not ready. The rooms looked nothing like they were displayed on the website. We stayed in a three star room. No where to place your items. No welcome pack, the room wasn't properly wired. We had an extension cord running across the room to the tv. No space in the room itself. No place to put clothes ect. It was not a practical room. There was also a charge of €50 which was added to our credit card. I don't know why this was in place. There was no minibar ect and they would only accept cards and no cash even in the coffeeshop next door. There was no space between the sink and the toilet which was impossible to use. Modern, idealistic and amazing it was not! It also was not worth the price we paid for. We got the room on offer as it had just opened but if people paid full price it would be extortion. I would not stay in this hotel again!

Room Tip: Don't book in here terrible hotel!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conorourke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

The hotel was still under going construction work, which was understandable as it had only been open 6 days. The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful in a excellent location down from train station and two minute walk to dam square at the other end of the road . I stayed in the 1- star room which was very nice with good decor, room was not massive but very comfortable. Next to the hotel had a cafe and its own shop.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank itwilldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Brand new fashion inspired hotel with a perfect position just 5 minute walk from central station!
Very nice people, creative and playful environment, clean room and very good breakfast, interesting selection of contemporary design pieces in the Options store too!
What else??!! ;)
A unique stay for curious young travellers!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

No heat for 2 days, no hot water for 1 day, no closet, no hooks, no hangers, no chair, no desk, no suitcase stand, no room on the floor for the suitcase, no room to move, no emergency info, no info at all, no numbers on the phone - try to figure out who to call to save walking down 3 bad flights of just-begun pseudo-stairs - and you'll never find your way out of that fire trap, lift doesn't work. The bed was severely moldy, had to sleep in my clothes. I got a "cheap deal" from expedia and pre-paid 2 nights, non-refundable they say despite these numerous complaints. Hotel charges €50 extra to your card and "will refund in 2 weeks" in case you order something you cannot order because there is nothing in the room, and no services.The window curtain hangs over the heater, which would be a problem if the heat worked. Amsterdam Hotel & building code Inspections, you have failed.

Room Tip: Stay away, and tell everyone you know. I will picket the place next time I'm in town,
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews