We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, location and rooms”
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #114 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed December 17, 2011

The hotel was still under going construction work, which was understandable as it had only been open 6 days. The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful in a excellent location down from train station and two minute walk to dam square at the other end of the road . I stayed in the 1- star room which was very nice with good decor, room was not massive but very comfortable. Next to the hotel had a cafe and its own shop.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank itwilldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,213)
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Exchange
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2011

Brand new fashion inspired hotel with a perfect position just 5 minute walk from central station!
Very nice people, creative and playful environment, clean room and very good breakfast, interesting selection of contemporary design pieces in the Options store too!
What else??!! ;)
A unique stay for curious young travellers!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

No heat for 2 days, no hot water for 1 day, no closet, no hooks, no hangers, no chair, no desk, no suitcase stand, no room on the floor for the suitcase, no room to move, no emergency info, no info at all, no numbers on the phone - try to figure out who to call to save walking down 3 bad flights of just-begun pseudo-stairs - and you'll never find your way out of that fire trap, lift doesn't work. The bed was severely moldy, had to sleep in my clothes. I got a "cheap deal" from expedia and pre-paid 2 nights, non-refundable they say despite these numerous complaints. Hotel charges €50 extra to your card and "will refund in 2 weeks" in case you order something you cannot order because there is nothing in the room, and no services.The window curtain hangs over the heater, which would be a problem if the heat worked. Amsterdam Hotel & building code Inspections, you have failed.

Room Tip: Stay away, and tell everyone you know. I will picket the place next time I'm in town,
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Booked into this hotel last Thursday at a special discount rate of 50% which was because it was just open. Informed by reception when we left that the discount was because the hotel wasn't finished, informed them they shouldn't have opened. On arrival we were met by the noise of hammers and saws.

Got to the room, no wardrobe, hangers, drawers or anywhere to put your belonging. Lamp beside the bed had no socket, extention lead ran across the floor to the tv. if you wanted to sit on the toilet you had to squash your way around the sink. The only nice thing about is was the bed which was really comforatable but overall I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Booked a 4 star room, was not ready on arrival, given a 3 star room, on 3rd floor, lift not working, no facilities in room, no where in room to put your belongings.....Toilet in room 322 not practical at all, it is only suitable for people with no legs!!!
Overall very bad experience of this hotel, would not stay there again. Hotel when we stayed there was like a building site.
Stayed during early December 2011

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sinead28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Hotel the Exchange is a wonderful new design hotel by the people behind the Lloyd hotel & cultural embassy. I was excited to be invited to the opening ceremony, as vogue france already named this as a must-see hotel. Now you have to be a bit adventurous, as this is by no means a standard hotel. Every room is "dressed as if it was a model" by fashion designers.

Located in the heart of the city on the Damrak street, which is lined with souvenir & kebab stores this fashionable hotel could just be what the neighborhood needs. Some 5star rooms have balconies with a view of the city and the stock exchange the hotel is named after. The hotel also contains a restaurant that reminds me of a hip NY style deli, and a design store with gifts by Dutch designers.

I loved it! Location is great and all the staff was very friendly. The hotel does have many small staircases as it is in a historical building, so I'm glad I travelled light. Go and stay here if your in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crazy_dutchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This brand new design hotel is a must see. Rooms are very original. We stayed at a 4 star room and enjoyed our stay very much. There was very much attention to the design. Very original. People at the reception are very kind. It was 2 minute walk to Central Station and a 1 minute walk to Dam square. Defintely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kees63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#144 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,346 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#69 of 371 in Amsterdam
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#68 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,047 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $131 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing