We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Dim Sum”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Good Fortune

Good Fortune
Ranked #1,643 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Dim Sum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

For a relatively ordinary-looking place, Restaurant Good Fortune serves decent dim sum. Ours was an early visit, so we ordered from a menu rather than getting to pick from a passing cart like we‘re used to doing. I’m not sure if that’s even an option here. Either way, everything we ordered was good (except, maybe, the spring rolls which we found kind of blah). Their house red wine was satisfactory and they offered Tsingtao, so drinks were covered as well.

The service was adequate, but the staff were accepting deliveries the entire time we were eating, so it was hard to tell if they would have been more attentive otherwise.

Payment was accepted only in cash or by using a Maestro card.

The premises were clean and the prices were reasonable, so we left comfortably full and wandered through Amsterdam’s China Town with a smile on our faces.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanElli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Was not sure to give 3 or 4 stars. This place definitely isn't average, I just think it's good!
Comfortable seating, clean, efficient and friendly service, and actually a cosy atmosphere (unusual for a Chinese place on Zeedijk...). Had Peking duck with pancakes, which was OK (this place does not specialize in duck though) and a chicken dish with white rice. Tasty and a good portion. They even had remarkably good red house whine by the way! Place was fairly busy on a Friday night, but not packed. All in all not a bad choice to eat Chinese food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious and popular with Chinese natives”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went here on the recommendation of Trip Advisor and were not disappointed!
The restaurant doesn't look like much from the outside but the food was delicious. We went at around 6.45pm and were seated immediately, although when leaving all the tables were occupied.
There is a wide menu ranging from delicious dim-sum to regular 'European' Chinese food. We both opted for rice based dishes rather than dim sum or noodles. The sechuan chicken was pleasantly spicy and had full delicious flavour. This restaurant is also excellent value for money; around 17Euro for a main meal and a drink. Would have returned if we had not only discovered this on our last night

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank traverseinfinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quite good Chinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

If you visit Chinatown and find New King or other with nicer interior full like we did - don't hesitate to stop by Good Fortune almost next door even if

You should know that most restaurants in Chinatown don't accept credit cards (only debit like Maestro) so unless it's stated in the windows, bring cash!

We enjoyed quite good Chinese food on a Friday night here. We had fried noodles with Peking duck and dim sum. The fried noodles were a little salty from all the soy as my partner noted but I liked them. They were mixed with lots of bean sprouts and some spring onion (I wanted more). The duck was very juicy and the skin sort of crispy.
We had four different dim sum. The shrimp is my favorite and they were juicy and tasty here. We had minced beef balls and they were my least favorite ones. Almost too rare but with the chili sauce and soy they were still good. The steamed chicken were tender and tasty. The fried gyoza and the Chinese dim sum both had pork but the latter with herbs.

Beer is cheap and so is the food. Four different dim sum and one dish plus three beers set us back 38 euros so great value for money.

The service was very friendly and quite attentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bechmann2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Dim Sum is there!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

My wife & I miss dim sum since our trip to Asia. And we were incredibly happy to find is place!
Great dim sum for good price. Two of you can order different dim sum & enjoy this unique Asian gastronomical experience:-)
Of course, you can find sim sum court jus nearby with 8.5€/hour for all you can eat, but we haven't seen lots of dim sum amongst the food there:-)

Helpful?
Thank Viktor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Fortune also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Good Fortune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing