We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice enough food near Dam Square not best!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mexican

The Mexican
Ranked #719 of 3,323 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“nice enough food near Dam Square not best!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

On our trip to Amsterdam during Christmas period my fiancee and I stopped into the Mexican for dinner on the first night.
The restaurant is nice and clean if a little small for its location.
for starters my fiancee had soup (not very Mexican i know!!) and i had jalepeno poppers both of which we nice and tasty and hot.
for our main courses we had chicken enchiladas and beef burrito, again the food was nice and we didnt wait long for it either.
I wouldnt say its the best Mexican restaurant i've been to but i couldnt really complain about much either.
the service was good and the food was hot and tasty.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mfindlay82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    157
    88
    17
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid! Even if this is your last option”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We visited this place after good reviews (despite its proximity to the city centre).
On ordering drinks (3 cocktails and a coke) we were told they don't 'have' tap water.
When the mojitos came, they tasted as if the syrup mixes had contaminated the soda water.

After explaining to the manager that the mojito's were of poor quality (old brown mint included), she informed us that she couldn't take it back as I'd sipped it and she could not sell it on!

Although alarm bells went off then, we stayed with our order, to much disappointment.

All in all the below food for 4 cost €110:

Nachos (poor), 4 tacos (poor, with dry chicken) fajitas for two (poor, chicken over cooked and a lot of brown meat), Mojitos (poor), Margarita (too sweet), Coke (ok), Heineken (fine).

When the best thing on the menu is the sour cream, they are doing something wrong!

Helpful?
3 Thank AD109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great breakfast, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I enjoyed the Mexican breakfast- two eggs, tortilla, chorizo, cheese and my husband had the chicken quesadilla. It was a great meal to begin a day exploring the wonderful city. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive. I would definitely return here on my next trip to Amsterdam. It is not very big but luckily we did not have to wait for a table. The table next to us had margaritas with their meals and I will be sampling these next time as they looked very good!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zoeh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Just average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Nice and good value for Amsterdam but a loose interpretation of Mexican and a limited menu. Quite a cute little restaurant though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottishExposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estavayer-le-Lac, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The food was not bad, but not very tasty. The tables are very very small and with all the dishes they bring you it is a little bit difficult to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nemone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mexican also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing