We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful, peaceful and very civilised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterinn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Waterinn
Ranked #185 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful and very civilised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Waterinn is a beautiful, peaceful place floating on a canal, water at your feet and wild water birds joining you as you breakfast under the hopeful eye of Jappi the Heron in the morning sun. On the other side of the house is a pretty wood and I'm sure I heard an owl.

Sylvie and Rob very kindly went to great lengths to ensure I enjoyed my stay, checking my breakfast preferences and kitting me out with a bicycle to explore the coast and get to the ferry across to the city more quickly. The house is very thoughtfully decorated and well equipped, my personal preference being the sweet upstairs bedroom under the eves with a view across the canal. There is also a traditional wood stove which Rob provided me with wood for but this was just for fun as the house is very warm. You can swim in the canal too but it wasn't warm enough for me when I went!

This is a perfect place if you want a quiet good quality base from which to explore Amsterdam or just a lovely holiday by the canal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very nice house boat , very good breakfast and location: mr Rob and miss Sylvie are very kind as well and everything was ok and unforgettable.
Very clean and so quiete place, it is perfect to visit Amsterdam and not only.
We will come back!
Thanks for all
Marco

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Imagine yourself a house on the water where a silver heron and a few ducks welcome you and the leaves on the trees wisper softly in the background.
This is just a dream when you want to visit a lively city such as Amsterdam!

The Waterinn is located on the North shore of Amsterdam in the quiet little yachtharbour of beautifull Nieuwerdam, and you can easily get to the heart of Amsterdam by bike (which Rob & Sylvie - the most friendly hosts we've ever met - lent us) & free ferry (24/24) in approx 15'.

For sure, we come back to this little place in paradise!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

This is a bed and breakfast on a houseboat on the North Shore of Amsterdam that was the perfect antidote to the crowds of Amsterdam centre. Take a free ferry across the water from just outside the Central station and the owner (perfect host) gave us a lift to this idyllic setting. After that you just borrow the household bikes and commute into the city by bike and ferry just like a local. I came with a friend and we each had our own bedroom and had a dining space to ourselves, equipped with kettle and dutch coffeemaker, microwave and a fridge, so we never needed to spend on eating out. We picked up ready to eat groceries from the local supermarket on the way back from town, opened a bottle of wine and just gazed out over the canal, listening to the birds and talking about how wonderful it must be to live in Amsterdam. Our host brought in a generous breakfast every morning, and if you want to experience Amsterdam in a more personal way, the Waterinn is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LondonAlthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.6 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Amsterdam Noord
NH Amsterdam Noord
#96 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#201 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
HutSpot B&B
HutSpot B&B
#146 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam Holy Dove
4.5 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterinn

Property: The Waterinn
Address: 10 Nieuwendammerkade | North shore, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterinn is a romantic Bed&Breakfast on a houseboat. Being on the water and facing a park the Waterinn is a perfect place to come back to and relax after spending the day downtown Amsterdam. City centre is only 15 minutes away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing