We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great for kids, terrible for parents” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of TunFun Speelpark

TunFun Speelpark
Ranked #162 of 466 things to do in Amsterdam
Attraction details
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for kids, terrible for parents”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The facilities for kids at TunFun are excellent. All ages are cater for. However, the place is underground and is just strange. I found it really dirty as the floor is the original railway concrete, and anywhere I see a ballpit I cringe. When do those balls get cleaned? It's really noisy due to the lack of flooring and really quite dark.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank lsandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    6
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Expansive indoor playground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

TunFun was a great place to use up some energy before catching the train home. We went on a Sunday morning at 11 and were among the first ones there, particularly in the older kid area. Nearer to 1:30 when we left, it was getting busy and louder.

The play area is about a kilometer long (from end to end) and 10 meters high in the central area (which explains how it can get so noisy). The climbing and bouncing equipment is broken into different age group areas - 0-4, 5-7, 6+ - to help make sure that big kids and little kids aren't jostling for the same equipment. Also, there is a bouncy house, a full-sized lego building block area, trampolines, a mini enclosed soccer field, a short down-hill track for cart racing, a reading area, an art area, and circus wagons for birthday parties (the last three areas looked like they were for organized activities). The major equipment looked to be in great condition (no wear and tear in the safety netting, for example). Some of the other spaces looked a little more worn (bowling alley, sports balls).

The entrance was well marked with a big sign and flags. The entrance price for the kids was 8E50 each. There is a snack bar with reasonably priced snacks and drinks. They sell ear plugs, too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank AmericanVersaillaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great when its empty - awful when full”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

As a UK visitor, our holidays are often out of line with Dutch ones - hence, been here a few times when its empty and then its great. When its full, it does get noisy. Agree with the previous reviewer - when nearly empty, you'll often find an expat to talk to.

What hasn't been covered, I think, is the sheer size of the place - its massive, built in a disused underpass under a busy road. The kids can wander off, well away from but safe.

So, think of the kids, check ahead and enjoy...

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank gerard_bartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good place to spend time with children - not special to Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

A large "Jimburee" for children, suitable for 2-10 years old. Not a tourist attraction, but parents may need to balance the "heavier" museums experience for their children with some pure fun activity - and here it is.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ran Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“TunFun, it is a kid's paradise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you are not a parent or a nanny, you will probably not want to be at TunFun - this is a space for kids and not meant to entertain adults - point #1. If you are a germaphobe, this place is not for you - point #2. If you have a kid(s) who needs to blow off some steam for hours on end, this is the greatest(!) On the weekends, we've been told, it's packed. We went on a Tuesday - the place was basically empty and we needed a break from sightseeing for our daughter (age 3) and from the wet/cold weather. We stayed for almost 6 hours - she was fully entertained and didn't stop for a moment. Ball pits, inflatable slides, trampolines, climbing structures, bowling, lifesize legos, you name it - they have it! They have age appropriate, safe play areas from 1 year up to 13 years old. We met folks from all over the world with their kids, and there's no better international language than "fun". We paid just over 8 euros for an entry fee, adults are free of charge. They have a full snack bar with lunch items, sweets, chips and drinks. So it's underground, a bit cold and dim and damp if it rains. But the kids have a BLAST, which is why it's there in the first place. And if you jump in with your kid, you will have fun too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank clouisep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TunFun Speelpark also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to TunFun Speelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing