We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy & quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #18 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
East Lothian
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Comfy & quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

4 miles outside the city centre, but only a minutes walk from the tram station. Hotel is very clean, reception staff very helpful. Rooms are very spacious and most importantly very quiet. Easy commute into the city centre which is sooo busy I was glad of a quiet space. Not a lot of eateries near by, closest about a 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your findings following your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed staying in one of our comfortably equipped rooms. Did you notice the musical theme that is represented throughout the building? The New York origin of George Gershwin has led to the names of our meeting rooms and the famous Manhattan 101 cocktail inspired us to name our restaurant one o one and Manhattan Lounge- Bar.

On behalf of the entire team I would like to express our gratitude regarding your compliment on their behalf. It is our passion to deliver the best possible service and compliments of guests are our motivation to continue to improve continuously.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    290
    27
    4
    5
See reviews for
85
338
38
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed here last weekend for a weekend getaway with my girlfriends and had a great experience! I really like the relaxed neighboorhood of the hotel, the location at a water, the terrace outside at the waterfront, the area is very airy and relaxed, and quiet during the weekend.
The staff are truly amazing, very friendly and they know what they're doing, excellent product knowledge both at the bar and the restaurant. Everyone makes you feel very welcome!
The food is really good and rather inexpensive for a hotel. Real good coffee at breakfast, friendly cook making nice omelettes ... The rooms are very well equipped, great beds, peaceful and beautifully decorated.
I'll be back :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South!

It is a true pleasure for us to know that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and that the staff members in the various outlets left a great impression as well. Compliments like these are of great motivation for them.

Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams.

We hope to welcome you as our guest soon again when business or leisure bring you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Excellent place for a business trip. Conveniently located next to WTC and 5 mins walk to Amsterdam Zuid (Amsterdam South) station.

The staff team is very friendly and provide very good services. Good breakfast -- please is very clean, very new and fresh and excellent rooms. Everything you need to feel comfortable. Free Wi-Fi.

Great place!

Room Tip: Take tram #5 at Amsterdam Zuid toward Amsterdam Central station. Best option to go to the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is indeed situated in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The area is becoming the centre for working and living and therefore also the restaurant-, shopping- and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier. Our quiet location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport.

Your compliments about the staff have been shared with the entire team. I would like to thank you very much again for you very kind review.

With kind regards,
Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bet Haemek - Israel
Level Contributor
135 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Real nice and brand new hotel with spacious rooms.
Close to railway station.
Great service; really home from home.
Rooms are great.
Good breakfast with again excellence service (do you want another coffee; juice etc).
One of the better Crowne Plaza's I have been to!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South!

It was a true pleasure to read your most rewarding words regarding the sincere hospitality that our staff members give forth. On top it is great to know that once entering the hotel you felt welcome and comfortable.

Your review has been shared with great pride within the team. Compliments like yours are a great reward for the work that the team does with pleasure and dedication on a daily basis and will only motivate them to continue to strive to do better.

Great as well that you discovered the advantages of travelling by public transportation from station Amsterdam- Zuid which is located on only 5 minutes walking from our hotel. Taking tram number 5 is the ideal way to get familiar with Amsterdam as it passes by many highlights of the city with end stop at Amsterdam Central Station.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed staying in one of our modern, spacious and quiet rooms. After a good night’s sleep a nutritious breakfast is the perfect way to re-energise and prepare for a productive day. Our breakfast buffet provides various warm and cold items to suit the needs of all of our guests. It was a true pleasure to learn that the breakfast buffet also left a positive impression with you.

Thank you again on behalf of the entire team for rewarding us with your review. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future and assist you in making your journey a success!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The perfect place for a business trip, specially if you have to do them in the WTC area. Quiet and comfortable rooms, very friendly and efficient staff. If you come to visit the city you can rather chose a hotel closer to the center, since this one is a bit offsite. Nevertheless the area is full of restaurants and close to the public transportation.

Room Tip: Request a high floor and enjoy the views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efimerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

We appreciate it that you have taken the time to review your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It has been a pleasure for us to learn that during your visit, the hotel has met your expectations and that you were able to have a successful business trip while enjoying some of the hotel’s facilities. On top of that it is great to know that the staff added to making your stay memorable in a positive way as well.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed our comfortable and quiet rooms. At Crowne Plaza we know how important sleep is. Sleep is the fuel that powers your day. The Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage program includes luxurious bedding, quiet zones and aroma therapy. In addition our soundproof doors keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep.

As you mentioned our location in the heart of Zuidas- Amsterdam is extremely convenient for guests visiting one of the many nearby located offices. In addition Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport which enables time efficient travelling and combining business with leisure.

Thank you very much again for your great comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back as a business- or leisure traveller.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I cannot rave about this hotel enough, it was a wonderful stay. We stayed for 4 nights using my IHG points so a nice freebie and treated like gold. Firstly we got in a taxi from the airport and soon learnt that was a expensive 39Euro mistake however hotel near train station which cost 8euros on way back so definitely recommended train instead.
Check in was easy, lovely girls on reception and our room was upgraded to a Junior Suite. The room was stunning, massive comfy bed, separate seating area with desk, tv, sofas, etc and just a lovely room.
The hotel is in the business area but a 5 minute walk to tram stop which run every 5 minutes into town and cost us 22euros for a 4 day pass so cheap. The tram was so easy and the mainline into city so plenty of stops in the good touristy areas.
We also had our wedding anniversary while staying here and they delviered a lovely bottle of red to our room and a tray of fruit, a really nice touch.
We didnt eat in the restaurant and felt breakfast was expensive so went to starbucks (2 minutes round the corner) instead but overall loved the hotel and would return if visiting Amsterdam again!

Room Tip: Ask for a upgrade, we stayed in 616 and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millz090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for being one of our highly valued loyal guests and for rewarding us with your kind words and high rating.

It has been our pleasure to upgrade you to the next available room type and we are happy that you enjoyed staying in one of our suites. Our state of the art suites have a separate lounge and bedroom for you to stretch out and relax. Choose your favourite drinks or snacks from the minibar or make a coffee or tea with the in-room facilities.

It is great that you discovered the benefits of our location outside the city centre of Amsterdam. The proximity of Schiphol Amsterdam Airport and available tram and metro connections between Station Amsterdam Zuid and the city centre make the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South an ideal choice for a business or leisure stay. Tram 5, running from Station Amsterdam Zuid to the Central Station, passes by many tourist attractions and is a great way to discover the historic centre.

We highly appreciate the feedback concerning our staff in the hotel. Compliments like these are a great motivation for all of us to continue to strive to deliver excellent service. On top of that it is great to know that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey into a success.

Thank you as well for your friendly remark about the surprise that was arranged for your anniversary. As it is our passion to assist our guests in making their journey a memorable experience, we were happy to contribute in this way to your special occasion.

We are grateful that you took the time to inform us about your stay and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Very clean and modern hotel in what was a good location for our needs. We were here for a festival that was held near the Amsterdam Arena so we were about 10 minutes on the train to both the main city centre and the Arena. On the nights we stayed out til the early hours, it was a 20 Euro cab pack to the hotel from the city centre.

The rooms are very modern with comfortable beds and pillows and an english plug socket built in which came in handy as we only brought one converter! The bathroom was very clean with a nice bath and shower.

The staff were very polite and helpful in letting us know how to get around and we got our 72 hour train tickets directly from the hotel.

On future trips to Amsterdam, I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkFx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It was a pleasure to learn that the location of the hotel worked well for the purpose of your elaborate trip and you enjoyed the short ride to the Amsterdam Arena and City Centre, which can be easily reached by tram departing from the Amsterdam South station which is only a stroll away from our hotel.

We are very pleased to learn that you were so positive about our spacious rooms which are provided with a various facilities including an electrical UK socket and soundproof doors that keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep. It is great to know that your upgraded room and the comfortable bathrooms, which been designed with care, were a positive addition to your stay.

As we strive to deliver the highest possible service throughout the hotel we are very grateful that you noticed that staff is paying attention to details. Guest feedback as such is the greatest motivation for us to continuously work on improving our service.

Thank you very much again for your great comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#25 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,383 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 MT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing