We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #19 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel is conveniently situated, a stone's throw from Amsterdam South train station and the metro. It is impeccably clean and comfortable although I found my room a touch too warm. The foyer is open and airy and the staff are friendly and efficient. Breakfast included a good range of food and the service was good. I am happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meopi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear valued guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the friendliness of the staff. Great that you discovered the city centre by using tram number 5. You can catch this tram at Station Amsterdam Zuid, 5 minutes walking from the hotel, from where it leads you through the historic city centre, over the canals while passing by many famous sights and has Amsterdam Central Station as a final stop. At train station Zuid you can also take the train to the airport which only takes about 7 minutes.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,230)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed with a group of friends May 2014. Staff consistently went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Rooms are comfortable, a decent size, and well appointed. Particular mention for the excellent, nearly silent air conditioning. Excellent breakfast - chef also offers items made to order. Bar ideal for relaxing drinks and staff cheerful and efficient. Location excellent for our purposes. 5 minute walk to Zuid station. Tram number 5 to centre can take a little longer than expected, so if making repeated journeys, my suggestion is to take the Metro and get off at Waterlooplein - 15m approx. to an attractive part of town. Consider putting 20 or 30 euros on an OVchipcard at airport on arrival. You can also use for trips by train to attractive out of town destinations such as Haarlem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aderynglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for informing us about your recent stay by posting a review on TripAdvisor.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed a pleasant stay in one of our guest rooms. As getting a good night’s sleep is very important when you travel, Crowne Plaza has developed the Sleep Advantage program together with leading sleep expert Dr Chris Idzikowski. This holistic approach to sleep enjoys features like comfortable bedding, quiet zone floors, guaranteed wake-up calls and an exclusive aromatherapy kit.

It is fantastic that you enjoyed the room but more important that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey to a success. Thank you for complimenting Michael in particular for his assistance; positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to deliver excellent service.

Again thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

It was my first trip to Amsterdam for business, and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza in the South area. It has a nice bar where I felt comfortable sitting and dining on my own - the bar staff were really lovely. The rooms and service were great. I would recommend for a business trip, but if you're here for leisure, then you'd want to stay closer to the centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenMoyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South following your recent stay with us.

It is an absolute pleasure to know that you enjoyed the great customer service provided by our staff members. It is a great reward for the team and especially the bar team in particular to know that they make a difference by delivering excellent service. Compliments like these motivate us to continue to strive to perform on a high level.

At Crowne Plaza we know how important sleep is. After a rejuvenating night’s sleep you will achieve more during the day. At Crowne Plaza, we've therefore thought of elements to help you relax and ensure you will enjoy a great night’s sleep. Luxurious bedding, aromatherapy kit and quiet zones will help you to relax and drift off easier.

We look forward to welcome you back as our guest and thank you again for your kind words.

Kind regards,
Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is the second time I stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South during an ISSA exhibition. And the staff proved to be very helpful, very efficient, and the hotel rooms were very clean. On top of that the food at the ONE restaurant was also great. I was a very pleasant stay, this time as in the first time too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marwan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings regarding your recent stay with us.

First of all I would like to thank you for complementing our staff about their service level. It is their passion to assist all of our valued guests in making their stay successful and memorable.
I am very thankful to read that you enjoyed our One o one restaurant, thank you for your kind compliments.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

And I've stayed in quite a few, on my travels! This is a very modern Crowne Plaza located in the business district of Amsterdam in the South.

However, while it might look far from the city centre on the map, it offered great value. Because you pay less than staying in a canal hotel, and you also get the benefits of a modern hotel. The rooms were soundproof, the rainforest shower was amazing, the bed was luxurious, and the air conditioning worked really well.

And it really isn't that far from the city centre - the train station to the airport or Amsterdam Centraal is just 2 minutes walk away. The tram that goes past the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum and to Dam Square is only 5 minutes walk away. Plus they have bikes to rent, if you want to cycle (only 15-20 minutes bike ride to the canal rings).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dahokolomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear valued guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a comment about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South.

It is a pleasure to learn that you were so positive about our spacious rooms which are provided with a LCD television with a wide range of television channels, in-room safe and soundproof doors that keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep. We aim to combine the best facilities with great service in order to allow our guests to re-energise and be more productive. A good night’s sleep and energising food and beverage selection plays an important role in that philosophy.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,
Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South for 3 nights this May holiday weekend with our toddler. The rooms were lovely - comfortable bed, sumptuous pillows, and large clean modern bathrooms. However, the crowning achievement is the staff. We had little mishaps (cot wasn't in our room as requested, coffee maker was broken) and the staff went above and beyond what I would expect to make amends, including hand written apologies. The manager on duty (Suzanne) even gave our toddler a stuffed animal which then never left her side - it was a sweet and complete unnecessary touch.

The hotel is outside of the city center but Tram 5 takes you directly into the city in about 10-15 minutes. For a family like ours, being close to the nightlife isn't an issue but I could see this as a downside for others. Then again in the savings we paid you could easily take a cab at night.

After a long day of sightseeing and some late afternoon naps we even had dinner in the hotel which was excellent. Prices were reasonable for a hotel, service was lovely and of a high quality.

All in all, I'd highly recommend this hotel and the especially because of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anoymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South on Tripadvisor.

It is fantastic that you were so positive about our spacious rooms with comfortable bathrooms, but more important that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey to a success. Thank you for complimenting Suzanne in particular for her assistance; positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to deliver excellent service.

It is great to learn that our location worked well for you and that you were able to benefit from the excellent public transportation connections that are available at Station Amsterdam Zuid. The hotel area is being developed to become an international top location for living, working and recreation with a nice selection of facilities like restaurants and shops to make the area livelier.

In addition, it is great to know that the quality of the food in the restaurant and the service provided there have made a positive addition to your stay. It is our aim to combine the best possible facilities with great service on a day to day basis. We are very grateful that you acknowledge our efforts.

Once again thank you very much for your kind and complimentary words. We hope to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel is located in a mainly office district. Although some way from the city centre, it is actually very convenient for public transport. Sound insulation, against both internal and external noise, is very effective, making it one of the quietest hotels we have ever used .
The Zuid station is about 5 minutes walk and has rail (Schipol every 10-20 minutes - takes 8 minutes), tram & metro connections.We bought a 3 day urban transport pass at the tourist office (VVV) located in the arrivals hall at Schipol.
Staff are very attentive and responsive - one of the best hotel teams we have ever encountered!
The buffet breakfast is good, and you can also order egg dishes (our omelettes were excellent).
We had 2 dinners, which were very high quality. The main restaurant was closed on Saturday night, but the same menu was served in the bar. Note: this was extremely crowded later in the evening - get there early to secure a table.
The negatives: our safe was not very large and wi-fi is very expensive.

Room Tip: We had a very quiet superior room on the 11th floor. However, the whole hotel seems well-insulated
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for sharing your findings with the travel community through Tripadvisor!

It was a pleasure to learn that our location in Amsterdam – Zuidas was convenient for you. Our quiet location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport.

It is great to learn that our soundproof doors kept away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep. Our rejuvenating and energising breakfast buffet offers all you need to prepare for a long day of exploring all that Amsterdam has to offer.

Most pleased and proud we were with your comment about our team. It is an absolute pleasure to know that our staff members made you feel welcome and comfortable and assisted you in making your trip a success.

We also value and understand your remark about the price of our WIFI and the size of our size. We are more than happy to offer you our complimentary IHG Rewards Club membership to offer you complimentary use of internet in the room. Also items which do not fit in the safe in your room, may be stored in a special safe at the Reception Desk.

Your compliments on behalf of the service and food quality of our Manhattan Bar will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality

We look forward to your next visit to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,120 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#23 of 371 in Amsterdam
226 reviews
Volkshotel
#37 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 MT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $163 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing