We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Nearby Hotels
$249
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$295
$265
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$371
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$562
$351
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$299
$243
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$104
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Toren(Amsterdam)
$536
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,348)
Filter reviews
1,348 results
Traveler rating
908
389
38
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
908
389
38
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness districtzuid stationcity centrebusiness hotelclub roomschiphol airporttrain stopexcellent hotelbusiness tripduty managerminute walkhotel is moderncomfortable roomspublic transporteasy accessquiet roomgreat room
Filter
Updating list...
677 - 682 of 1,348 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great location for business visitors to the Amsterdam Zuid and RAI area. The management and staff are always attentive and show genuine interest in doing a good job. Stayed here many times and always had a great experience. Food and amenities are excellent, as well as the gym and meeting rooms.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank EduS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

ear valued guest,

Thank you for being one of our highly valued loyal guests and for rewarding us with your kind words and high rating.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is indeed situated in close proximity of the Rai Congress Centre and in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The area is becoming the centre for working and living and therefore the restaurant, shopping and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier.

It is a true pleasure for us to know that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and you are satisfied about our gym facilities, our various meeting rooms and that the food in our hotel is rated by you as excellent. In addition it is great to learn that all staff in the hotel left a great impression as well. Compliments like these are of great motivation for them.

Once again we thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back as our guest when your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here for 8 days in a row, so I was relieved to find the hotel very comfortable for such a stay.

The staff are attentive without being overbearing. At the same time, they could do a little more to make you feel welcome.

Our group was in the bar to eat fairly regularly so we saw the service in here quite a lot. I think the bar staff could up their service levels somewhat.

The rooms are excellent. The hotel is quite new and it is very tastefully decorated in a contemporary style without being over the top.

The hotel is well located for access to the RAI conference centre (I recommend going through the park on a bike!) and for taxi or train access to other major business districts. However don't come here for a taste of old Amsterdam - this is very much the southern suburbs.

Overall - recommended.

Room Tip: Building work still ongoing on the Eastern side of the hotel. It did not disturb me though.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyHooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Hereby we like to thank you for the efforts made to share your experience. We are glad to read that your long stay was a pleasant one. The hotel indeed is very new, the hotel opened only two years ago. We are happy to read you like our interior design and the fact that you would recommend us to others, thank you for that!

As your feedback allows us to improve our service I would like to get in contact to discuss the points you mentioned about our staff and the level of service in our Manhattan Bar. I would like to hear which aspects of service did not meet your expectations and what made you feel less welcome than you could have felt. Please contact me at natalia.alvarez@ihg.com at your earliest convenience.

Thank you for taking the time to express yourself in this review, your feedback means a lot to us. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Natalia Alvarez Pereiro
Food and Beverage manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Crowne Plaza South staff and property is one of the best Crowne Plaza properties I've ever stayed at. They are consistently good in their staff support, housekeeping, and catering/meeting support. Marjan is a meticulous Events Manager (who can definitely keep pace w/any solution needs as they arise) and Thijs (my onsite Banquets Manager) and his staff kept the event rolling smoothly. In addition, the Account Manager (also named Thijs!) and Dax from the Front Desk management were excellent in resolving an onsite issue so that all was well in the end. Every event manager knows things happen onsite, and it definitely makes a huge difference when you have a great support staff onsite to help! My highest praise for the Crowne Plaza South staff. This is a great business hotel for anyone who has a meeting at the RAI Convention Center.

Room Tip: No room was noisy, but during the day there was construction on the "south" side of the building.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitasa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear valued guest,

To start of with; thank you very much for all the kind words! It is great to see you take the time to share your story here on TripAdvisor.

I have made sure that your praise is forwarded not only to Marjan, Dax, Thijs and the other Thijs, but to the entire team which have all played an important part in making your meeting and stay the success it was. Feedback like yours is a great motivator for all of us!
It is often said that service quality is shown most on moments when things don’t go as planned and our whole team will always do its very best to find suitable solutions for our guests in these moments.

Our hotel is very convenient for RAI visitors indeed and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your party once again might you attend the RAI in the future!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights when over for the Amsterdam marathon, very nice rooms and very friendly and helpful staff, it was one of the quietest hotels I've stayed in for being peaceful at night. Not like most British hotels where the drunks are coming in all hours of the night.
Very handy for the airport, 1 stop and 2.50 euros on the train, and the metro and tram to the city centre; Although one day we walked to the Risjkmuseum and the centre as it was a pleasant day, it's very easy to find just follow the tram lines.

The hotel put on a pasta buffet the night before the marathon as many people running were staying there, a very good idea. Plenty of places to eat nearby and within 15 minutes walk if you want to eat elsewhere

It's got a gym, but not a pool, which we do like to use, otherwise it would get top marks.

I would return to stay with the family for an Amsterdam trip as being in the city centre isn't a must if we can walk or get good transport in, the travel passes are excellent if you want to get about a bit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Great to read your stay was a success, we hope your participation in the marathon was just as successful!

We are glad you have taken the time to write this review, thank you very much for your compliments about our staff and the rooms. We are happy our extra efforts with the Pasta Buffet are appreciated, looking back at the number of guests who made use of the buffet; it indeed was a great success.

Like you mention it is very easy to get from the hotel to the centre of Amsterdam or Schiphol Airport and because we are not in the centre, our location guarantees a quiet night sleep.

Although our hotel indeed does not have a swimming pool, we are more than happy to help you find a suitable pool or spa when you might be returning with you family!

Thank you once again for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I've stayed at a few Crownes over the years and none of them are particularly memorable, usually they pass as serviceable, so I was pleasantly surprised to see the suite we booked was actually quite lovely, albeit fairly expensive, given the hotel is on the outskirts of the city (near the station Zuid [Pronounced Zoud].)
The suite was a decent size and the bathroom was quite excellent - big deep bath and an excellent raised rain-like shower with top amenities. The suite also came with a very easy to use coffee machine and wi-fi so there was really nothing more I needed. The included breakfast was in a strange little club room on the second floor which was tiny and a bit honest but you could order eggs along with the continental offerings so it was very much fine. The gym is tiny as you would expect of a hotel like this but you can do some basic workouts.
The staff were great, supplied me with excellent directions on using the tram and when I had a coffee and cake in the little bar at the front before departing the service was very good and very friendly. If you have to stay outside of the city I would recommend this hotel although I am aware the experience might be different in a room rather than a suite.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Latika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences here on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that we have surpassed your expectations and would recommend us to others, we take that as a great compliment!

We are glad our Suite with Illy espresso machine and Rituals amenities was at the heart of your experience.

The breakfast you enjoyed was served in our Club Lounge, accessible to those who booked a Suite or Club Room in order to provide you with a serene and calm start of the day. Our gym is equipped with the necessary equipment for basic endurance or strength training. Might you have ideas or suggestions to further improve these two parts of our hotel we would love to hear them at any time.

Regardless of booking a Suite or other room, we are looking forward to welcoming you in the future to surprise you again with the quality we have to offer!

Thank you once again for the efforts you have taken to write this review and I will forward your kind compliments to all of our staff.

With hospitable regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammelaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews