We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A surprise for the senses and the purse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #19 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A surprise for the senses and the purse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Normally you just don't go to a hotel restaurant,but we had a less good experience with a restaurant in Amsterdam and decided to go to the Crowne Plaza in the South of Amsterdam. It is true that the restaurant has the looks of a restaurant within a hotel and we were quick to ask ourselves what could be done to improve the atmosphere of the restaurant, but we just did not know. On the other hand the Crowne Plaza restaurant could easily hold our company of nine people; we were seated royally on a great bench or in very nice chairs.
We were amazed at the kindness and acumen of the people who were serving the meals (something we experienced quite differently in other places in Amsterdam.) The hotel amazed us: 'only four star, but absolutely a four star plus.'
A great place to be, especially when you are more than 8 persons.

Room Tip: Although this hotel is on the 'outside'of Amsterdam, with public transportation you are easi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HermesseJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel and one o one restaurant in particular!

It is a great pleasure to learn that you had a memorable experience in our hotel and we are especially proud that the staff members in the restaurant contributed to that through their friendly attitude and professional service.

With regards to your remark about the atmosphere of our restaurant, we look forward to hear any suggestions you might still come up with, in order to make changes or improvements.

Thank you again for your kind and complimentary review and we look forward to welcome you and your group back again to enable another memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    300
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
89
352
40
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

brand new hotel and if you are lucky to get upgraded to a suite you can expect space and luxurt.. last time I stayed here the room came with a fully furnished coffee bar with an Illy espresso machine.. massive bathroom and real comfortable bed..
the gym is good, new and good working cardio machines, but not much in the way of weights.. for those that prefer to go for a run in the open air there are some suggested running routes in the gym.

the restaurant was very good, although very quiet..
good bar with some atmosphere (which is not bad for a hotel bar.. ;)

all in all, great business hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DouweMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South for your recent business stay. It is great to learn that you had a good stay with us!

It has been our pleasure to upgrade you to the next available room type and we are happy that you enjoyed staying in one of our suites. Our state of the art suites have a separate lounge and bedroom for you to stretch out and relax. Choose your favourite drinks or snacks from the minibar or make a coffee or tea with the in-room facilities.

But if you prefer to have a cocktail or other favourite drink, our Manhattan Lounge – Bar with cosy and relaxed atmosphere, is the place to be. Combine your drink with a snack or dinner dish while spending an evening in good company.

Great as well that you are so positive about our other facilities. In our efficiently established gym we aim to offer a variety of machines and equipment in order to allow our guests to have a good work-out. We appreciate your feedback about the weights and will definitely consider it.

Thank you once more for evaluating your stay with us. We hope to be your hotel of choice again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The nicest Crowne Plaza we have ever stayed in. Brand new, modern, airy, rooms with very,high ceilings, comfy, new beds, down comforters, Nespresso machine in rooms, many little goodies in room. Hotel next to Tram # 5 that takes you directly into Centrale, which is the central part of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobsuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for writing a great and complimentary review of which the title is a true advertisement for our hotel. We are so pleased that you consider us the nicest Crowne Plaza you experienced so far!

Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams.

Great as well that you discovered the city centre by using tram number 5. You can catch this tram at Station Amsterdam Zuid, 5 minutes walking from the hotel, from where it leads you through the historic city centre, over the canals while passing by many famous sights and has Amsterdam Central Station as a final stop.

We hope to welcome you as our guest soon again when business or leisure bring you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

nice & brandnew hotel in the new commercial district Amsterdam South. Good if you have business there or want to wake up close to the airport. It's a 10-15min ride, with the Airport train station in walking distance (4-5min walk from the hotel only) taxi to the city centre took me around 20min. Nice rooms, (I got upgraded to a family suite, nice!)) The bar is OK for a late night drink, and yes, its a proper thing, not just hotel-like wannabe)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmmel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your recent stay with us in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South! It is a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and successful business stay with us and that you benefitted from our central location versus the airport and the city centre.

It has been our pleasure to upgrade you as availability allowed so and are glad that your stay in one of our suites was meeting your expectations.

Great as well that you positively mentioned our Manhattan Lounge – Bar. With a wide variety of cocktails and other drinks served in a comfortable environment this is the perfect place for a casual business meeting or drink after a day in town.

Once again thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying here almost every week for a year now. It is truly excellent in every way. Service is friendly and attentive. The whole place is spotless. The rooms are well equipped and there is wi-fi throughout the hotel. Beds and pillows are comfortable. The bar is a proper bar and not a hotel type thing. It is one you would consider whether a resident or not. Food is excellent. Basically what's not to like? One of the best hotels I know ANYWHERE.

Room Tip: yet to find a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for being our loyal guest for the past year! We highly value that you took the time to write about your experience and that you consider the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South to be excellent and one of the best hotels you know.

As you had the opportunity to experience our product and service on several moments during the past year, your positive words about the rooms, facilities and staff are highly appreciated.

We hope to have to pleasure to accommodate you for a long period ahead and thank you once more sincerely for this great review.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I liked the associates at this hotel best. The concierge was beyond knowledgeable about what was in the area. The restaurant was bountiful for our breakfast buffet. Location is such that you are close to almost everything you wish to see...

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferparas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for sharing your findings with the travel community through Tripadvisor!

It was a pleasure to learn that our location in Amsterdam – Zuidas was convenient for you. Our quiet location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport. Our rejuvenating and energising breakfast buffet offers all you need to prepare for a long day of exploring all that Amsterdam has to offer.

Most pleased and proud we were with your comment about our team. It is an absolute pleasure to know that our staff members made you feel welcome and comfortable and assisted you in making your trip a success.

We look forward to your next visit to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South!

Kind regards,

Nicoel Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

While staying there I managed to burn out my neblulizer which I need daily for my breathing. My voltage converter burnt out also. I notified the staff. They told me that they would take care of it. Within an hour they had a new one for me and had installed it in my room and had left me there converter also, which I needed for an oxygen unit that I had. Price for neblulizer was comparable to prices in USA .
Great place , easy access to train to centre of city

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings regarding your recent stay with us.

We are sorry to see that your stay was not entirely worry free due to unfortunate circumstances but it is great that our staff members were there for you and assisted with providing you with the necessary equipment.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay nevertheless and look forward to welcome you back in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South, should you visit Amsterdam again.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#24 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#29 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 MT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing