We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great experience for business travellers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #17 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great experience for business travellers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here more than once and was delighted.

Rooms are spacious, modern and clean.

Food in the restaurant was very good.

Location is ideal if you are on business in the Amsterdam Zuid district and 10 minutes to the airport.

Service is extremely polite and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XYZ274707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for being one of our highly valued loyal guests and for taking the time to review the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It is a pleasure to know that our location is connecting well to the purpose of your frequent visits and that you enjoy staying in one of our comfortably designed and equipped rooms.

Your compliments on behalf of the food quality and service will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    281
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
82
319
37
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very nice hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Stayed here on vacation to visit Amsterdam. Very close to the tram to get into the city center. Rooms were comfortable, clean and modern. Had a great stay here and was very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdecuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South for your recent vacation in Amsterdam. We hope you had a great stay in our beautiful city!

We are pleased that your stay with us added to making your stay memorable and pleasant. It is always great to receive positive feedback of our guests so your review has been shared with the entire team.

Once again thank you for expressing your satisfaction and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in during visits to Europe. The place is clean and comfortable, and the staff goes above and beyond to help people get where they're going. I especially appreciated wi-fi availability, which was free to me because of Priority Club membership. The hotel is convenient to rail transit, which is easy to follow in Amsterdam. I'm sorry we could stay only one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanmigueleno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South!

We are extremely pleased and proud that that you consider us to be one of the best hotels where you have ever stayed in Europe and that you would have liked to stay longer with us.

Your kind words about are staff are a great compliment for them considering that they are passionate about delivering great service so our guests can re-energise and be more productive during their trip.

We look forward to accommodate you again in the near future when business or leisure bring you back to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I first stayed here in January 2013 during which I found everything to be excellent and appealing. Therefore I was interested to revisit and stay for a longer period of 6 days in August. The EXCELLENCE still prevails and my stay was as near perfect as I could imagine. The Staff and Managers in this hotel are really top notch, professional and helpful without being sycophantic. The hotel itself is a lovely property which is well maintained.
Many thanks to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RalphSingapore66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,


First of all it is great that your first stay in January made you decide to stay with us again last August. We highly value your loyalty!

Thank you for your kind and complimentary words about your recent stay. It is a great reward for the entire team to read your words about our staff and management. It is our passion to assist each guest to make his or her stay a success. We aim to do this by combining the best possible facilities with great service.

We are grateful to receive your confirmation that we are doing this well and hope to remain your hotel of choice for all your future stays in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza in June with a large party leaving for a cruise 2 days after we arrived. The hotel was wonderful with a top notch staff. We ate in the restaurant and had drinks in the bar each day, and can't say enough good things about the waiters and bar staff. The hotel was extremely quiet and comfortable. The sleep kits provided were a great touch of luxury along with superb bedding. I highly recommend this Crowne Plaza!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimibac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South!

It is a true pleasure for us to know that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and that the staff members in the various outlets left a great impression as well. Compliments like these are of great motivation for them.

In addition we are pleased that the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage program helped you to sleep well. Our soundproof guest room doors together with luxurious bedding, aromatherapy and quiet zones are the perfect ingredients for a rejuvenating night’s sleep.

Thank you again for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you back with us again!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I don't usually comment on business hotels, too boring, but this one is different.
Good points. Desk with lights so you can actually read. Electric points at desk level. Kettle for coffee.Ironing board. Proper hangers, not the ones that suggest you are a thief. Window opens, albeit not far, fresh air is nicer. Air conditioning works. Shelves in the bathroom enough for all washbags so you don't have to line them up on the floor. Shower does not soak the whole bathroom.

Good bar with good food. Pleasant staff. It is easy really, but so few manage it.

bad points; none

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay with us! We sincerely appreciate your feedback, especially since it is not your habit to review your business stays.

It has been a pleasure for us to learn that during your visit, the hotel met your expectations and that you were able to have a successful business trip while enjoying some of the hotel’s facilities.

Great as well that you liked the approach of our staff members. As they aim to make you feel comfortable during your stay, your words are a fantastic compliment on their behalf.

We hope to welcome you back soon when business or leisure bring you back to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from The Crowne Plaza. We really couldn't fault it, the rooms, service and general ambience were fantastic. We stayed in a large party and all agreed that its one of the best nights sleep we've had. The hotel is really peaceful, the beds were out of this world and little added extras like sleep kits, aromatherapy smellies and never ending jugs of mint and lemon water really made the stay special...Not to mention first class all you can eat brekfast which was all fresh and so much variety we couldn't eat anything else until dinner! Don't let the location put you off booking- its one train stop from the airport and a short tram ride the other way in to central Amsterdam. Both tram and train stop close to the hotel and having stayed in the centre before this place is a haven of tranquility after a busy day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucy-daryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

It was a true pleasure to read the review that you wrote following your recent stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South!

It was especially great to learn that you discovered the advantages of the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme. We know how important sleep is. Sleep is the fuel that powers your day. Who knows what you'll achieve after a great night's sleep? Well, now you can find out. At Crowne Plaza, we've thought of elements to help you relax and ensure you enjoy a great night’s sleep such as luxurious bedding, aromatherapy, Quiet Zones: all to ensure that you can relax and drift off easier. We are glad as well that you appreciated our rejuvenating touch in the lobby: the mint, lemon and lime infused water.

Our location, despite slightly remote from downtown Amsterdam, is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport and the RAI Convention Center are only a few minutes away by public transport. On walking distance of the hotel you will find station Amsterdam- Zuid with fast metro and tram connections into town. It is fantastic that you discovered the advantages of staying in the peaceful and quiet surroundings of our location.

We look forward to welcome you back soon and thank you again for your review!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#35 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 4,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing