We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Well appointed Hotel outside the City Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #18 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well appointed Hotel outside the City Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a weekend in early June. The hotel was new and everything was well designed and functional in the room. The location of the hotel is a little far from the city center, but it is located just a 10 minute walk from a tram station with easy access to the rest of Amsterdam. The staff was exceedingly friendly and really made an effort to make the guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCtheEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South for your weekend stay in Amsterdam. We are happy that you rewarded our hotel with such high ratings.

It was a pleasure to read your feedback about the friendliness of our staff and the welcome experience that they provided. It is also great that you enjoyed staying in one of our comfortable rooms and that you liked the design with “George Gershwin” theme.

Unfortunately the location of the hotel is not very close by the city centre with its many sights and cultural offer. But as you mentioned there is a railway station, Amsterdam- Zuid, situated on 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. From here you can take tram number 5 into the city centre. On its way to the end stop Amsterdam Central Station, this tram passes by many shopping streets, canals, canal houses, famous museums, the Dam square and is therefore an entertaining way to get acquainted with our beautiful city!

Thank you again for reviewing us and we hope to welcome you back as our guest if you visit Amsterdam again.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    290
    27
    4
    5
See reviews for
85
338
38
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Checked into this nice hotel and found the ladies on the reception were very friendly and extremely helpful as I was staying for 3-4 days the ladies were very kind enough to direct me to trams and the local metro as well as selling me tickets from the front desk to use on the trams,metro. I found that the breakfast in the morning catered for everyone's tastes there was a great variety of different things to try from hot food to cold plus the staff were very helpful in catering for your needs A excellent hotel with very friendly staff who are not only helpful but also very knowledgeable of the city as well and can easily direct you to where you want to go I had a fantastic 3-4 days on my badminton tournament and it was great to meet up with old friends as well as make new ones. The rooms had a mini bar if you needed it and there was a safe for locking all those important euro's and passport away safely. The cleaners who came in quite early were also very polite and if you weren't ready for them they would say not a problem I'll pop back later when your out of the room. To summarise the whole experience I would give the hotel and the reception,and the cleaners 5 out 5. The only criticism I had would be maybe the management should learn from their staff how to treat there customers more there was one manager in particular who really needed a lesson in customer service but apart from that the 3-4 days I stayed we're really pleasant and enjoyable

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your extensive feedback regarding your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to read your review and we are happy that you had a successful tournament in Amsterdam. Moreover we are pleased that the facilities of the hotel and the staff service were a positive contribution and helped in making your stay memorable. Your positive words about our Front Desk and Housekeeping employees in particular are a great reward for their work and will only motivate them to continue to deliver great service.

It was however concerning to read your remark about one of our managers whose customer service did not make a good impression. We are sorry for the disappointing experience you had and would appreciate it if you could send some additional feedback to info.amspc@ihg.com. As we are always aiming to improve our service level and take the feedback of our valued guests very seriously, it would be much appreciated if you are willing to get in contact with us.

Once again thank you very much for your kind and complimentary words. We hope to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a great place! Cleanliness and maintenance are to praise. The room was big and with a big window offering views of Amsterdam.
The bed is very comfortable, the tv featuring all imaginative international channels.
The bathroom was big and beautifully designed, the soundproofing is very good - we have not heard anything around.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.
The tram and train connection to old town are very good and speedy. So within 20 min you are in the very heart of old Amsterdam.
Thumbs up! For the money payed, it is simply the best hotel in Amsterdam, trust me..

Room Tip: we asked for the top floor, and the view did not disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience. It is great to hear that you had such a great stay with us and recommend us as being the best hotel in Amsterdam.

It is a pleasure to learn that you were so positive about our spacious rooms which are provided with a LCD television with a wide range of television channels and soundproof doors that keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep. The comfortable bathrooms have been designed with care si it is great to know that this feature was a positive addition to your stay.

On top it is great that you were able to benefit from our easy access to the public transport only a short walk away from the hotel.

Thank you very much again for your great review and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It looked like a good location from the details on the hotels website but it is a ten minute walk to the tram station and a 30 minute ride into town. Other Crowne Plaza hotels this far from the action provide a shuttle service ( e.g. Rome and Verona ) I have suggested the hotel provides a shuttle. The secure car parking was 48 euro's per night so not many used it. Some free parking after 7pm and parking meters during the day but too much time and energy would be taken up trying to park other than in the secure car park. Staff were great, really helpful. The restaurant food was good, but it shuts for private parties and on Sundays - so eating was in the bar for two of our three days. Some bars and snack places to eat at the main Zuid station, ten minutes away. A very nice hotel but on a business park and too far from town.

Room Tip: A new hotel so all rooms are a good size. All rooms are quiet. There are no views that are special s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilmorris838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South for your weekend stay and for sharing your experience with us and the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that our staff members have been able to make your stay a success but unfortunately our location did not work out perfectly for you. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is indeed situated slightly outside the city centre of Amsterdam. Due to the excellent public transportation connections that are available at the nearby located station Amsterdam-Zuid, the hotel does not dispose of a shuttle bus. Due to ever busy traffic in the downtown area it would take much longer to go into town by shuttle bus instead of by tram or metro.

We value and completely understand your remark about the high price of the parking garage nearby the hotel. Due to the high traffic pressure in Amsterdam, the prices of the public parking spaces are kept very high by the local authorities. Around the hotel on the streets free parking is possible though from 7pm until 9am. If any assistance is required, the reception team is more than willing to advise you on the best option.

Regarding your feedback about the restaurant, we would like to bring to your attention that the menu of our One-O-One restaurant is served in our Manhattan Lounge- Bar during the weekend. We look forward to show you the various menu items during your next stay.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a short break from the UK . This hotel and staff are the best at their job. I have never been so looked after in any hotel in the world. The staff were genuine and very friendly. The room was excellent they even arranged a taxi free of charge as one of the tour trips did not pick up at the hotel. The lounge as very large and the best free happy hour I have ever had 6PM til 11PM !!!! fantastic I cannot give enough praise for this hotel and its staff five star treatment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank stevecave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your extremely rewarding review. It was a great pleasure to read that you were so impressed by the hotel, facilities and our staff members. We are honoured and proud that our staff service was perceived as a 5 star treatment by you. Compliments as such are a great motivation for the entire team.

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed our spacious Club Lounge, which offers free drinks and snacks throughout the day and a range of facilities for leisure and business guests. The Happy Hour is one of the reasons why booking a Club room with lounge access is a great choice when staying in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

We hope to welcome you back soon when you visit Amsterdam again and thank you once more for your praising words.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel is 15 min. (on a train) from the airport and about 15 min. (on a tram) from the city center. Our room was large, very clean, and very quiet. Our bed was gigantic and the mattress was fantastic (firm and comfortable). I slept better than I do at home. A generous breakfast buffet was included. If you're out and about late at night you should add extra time to get back to the hotel, as trams don't run as often. I won't hold this against the hotel, but the burger in the hotel "Manhattan" bar is a European style burger - it was overly spiced and the meat was too finely ground. It was OK but not NYC amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with our hotel on Tripadvisor with fellow travellers.

It is great that you discovered the benefits of our location outside the city centre of Amsterdam. The proximity of Schiphol Amsterdam Airport and available tram and metro connections between Station Amsterdam Zuid and the city centre make the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South an ideal choice for both a business as leisure stays. Tram 5, running from Station Amsterdam Zuid to the Central Station, passes by many tourist attractions and is a great way to discover the historic centre. In case guests need to return to the hotel after midnight, a night bus is available from the city centre besides for regular taxi service. The reception staff is more than willing to inform about the various possibilities.

We are very pleased to learn that you were able to enjoy our breakfast buffet which includes various warm and cold items to suit the needs of all of our guests. It’s unfortunate though that our Manhattan burger did not meet your expectations. This burger is called a Manhattan Burger as it is the signature dish of our Manhattan Lounge - Bar. Please be assured that the recipe has been composed with the highest care and after careful considering the opinions of our guests. We highly value your feedback and will make it our challenge, when reviewing the menu again, to make our European style burger more New York amazing!

Once again thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. We will do our utmost to make your stay memorable in a positive manner.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
149 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a conference at the RAI. Very comfortable room - conducive to sleeping well - good bedding, very quiet (I had room 318 at the end of the passage) no building noise at all from the construction site next door. The room is well designed and with good amenities (tea/coffee, nice soap etc). Also, lovely little box with a complimentary pillow spray. I found the staff all very friendly, helpful and obliging. Managed to get an early check in after a long haul flight so I could refresh and go straight to the conference. Breakfast is of a good quality (excellent cheese, cold meats and breads), I didn't try dinner at the hotel but am sure the standard will be good. Ate at Gustavino near the hotel one night and had an excellent meal. Second night went to Leidseplein and had a disappointing meal (I think we chose badly..). I did not use the train to and from the hotel as I had too many bags but the station is very close. Don't book a taxi in advance, it was more expensive than just picking up a taxi outside the airport. The taxi service the hotel arranges is very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knowthegoodstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Tripadvisor.

It is great that our convenient location with business facilities and public transportation in close proximity of the hotel were a positive addition to your stay. The hotel area is being developed to become an international top location for living, working and recreation with a nice selection of facilities like restaurants and shops to make the area livelier.

We are pleased to learn that you were able to enjoy a good night’s sleep during your stay. At Crowne Plaza we know how important sleep is. Sleep is the fuel that powers your day. The Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage program includes luxurious bedding, quiet zones and aroma therapy. In addition our soundproof doors keep away any distraction from outside, like potential disturbance from the construction site next door. All to ensure that nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep.

After a good night’s sleep a nutritious breakfast is the perfect way to re-energise and prepare for a productive day. It is great that you were happy about the quality of our breakfast and that it contributed to your stay.

On top of we are extremely pleased to learn that the staff added to making your stay memorable in a positive way as well.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#25 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,381 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 MT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing